cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Big problems with V2.0.3  (Read 3310 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,468
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 17.0
    • Weather Display
Re: Big problems with V2.0.3
« Reply #15 on: January 21, 2013, 08:25:05 PM »
Quote
Edit: Also it seems your 'low pressure today' value is being set to your 'record all time low' value? And that seems very low too?

the custom tags used are for all time record hi/lo barometer (%recordlowbaro%)
what should be used?


Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 659
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 24.0.1312.52
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Big problems with V2.0.3
« Reply #16 on: January 21, 2013, 08:31:36 PM »
The relevant sections of the customclientrawlocal.txt are:
Code: [Select]
"pressTL":"%lowbaro%",          // Today's lowest pressure
"pressTH":"%highbaro%",         // Today's highest pressure
"pressL":"%recordlowbaro%",     // All time lowest pressure
"pressH":"%recordhighbaro%",    // All time highest pressure

You can see the processed ccr file above has:
Code: [Select]
"pressTL":"24.191",
"pressTH":"30.070",
"pressL":"24.191",
"pressH":"30.540",
So Today's low and the all time low are the same?
Mark

Offline weatherbee

  • Posts: 726
  • Sherman, Ct.
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 6.0.2
  • Safari 6.0
    • Sherman Ct. Weather
Re: Big problems with V2.0.3
« Reply #17 on: January 21, 2013, 08:55:06 PM »
WD recorded that low barometer reading. It was an error. The weather station didn't have that low a reading. I don't think it had anything to do with the steel gauges script.
Sony Pentium 4, 1.6 GHZ,512 MB Ram, Windows XP Pro, SP2


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,468
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 17.0
    • Weather Display
Re: Big problems with V2.0.3
« Reply #18 on: January 21, 2013, 09:35:37 PM »
Quote
So Today's low and the all time low are the same?
no
weatherbee would have reset the all time record low, I would say, so that it is now the current baro (i.e today's low)
ideally WD should not be recording a 0 for record low baro, ie it should be ignoring
that I will check on that

Offline jgillett

  • John - W7JKG
  • Posts: 968
  • Phoenix, AZ
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Safari 5.1.7
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: Big problems with V2.0.3
« Reply #19 on: January 21, 2013, 11:14:48 PM »
Mark,

My system was still dropping the wind rose gauge on occasion through 2.0.3. Didn't keep reporting it because I didn't want to be a bigger pest than I already am. However, what I finally nailed down in the failures was that, every time, the direction reported from WD was 360. Any other direction, even 0, or any wind speed did not make a difference. The only failure, for me anyway, was at 360.

Have just loaded .4 - trust you found the culprit.

Thanks for all your efforts!
John
W7JKG


Offline mcrossley

  • Posts: 659
  • Wilmslow, Cheshire, UK
    • none
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 24.0.1312.52
    • WilmslowAstro Weather
Re: Big problems with V2.0.3
« Reply #20 on: January 21, 2013, 11:48:11 PM »
... The only failure, for me anyway, was at 360.

Have just loaded .4 - trust you found the culprit.

Thanks for all your efforts!
Yep, the bug was specific to an average wind direction of 360 and 360 only.

Interesting that WD reports 0 for the 'latest' when it is calm, but 360 for the 'average' wind direction when calm, I understood the 'norm' was to use 360 for North, and 0 for 'calm'.

Of course the average would be 360 only 1/360th of the time normally (assuming a totally random wind direction, which it isn't of course), so the bug in the SteelSeries gauge was highlighted by WD in calm conditions.
Mark

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,468
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 17.0
    • Weather Display
Re: Big problems with V2.0.3
« Reply #21 on: January 22, 2013, 01:55:56 AM »
360 for this function was set to 0
(for wind direction for adding windspeed for the array)

 

cumulus