cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?  (Read 42097 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,862
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 7.0
    • Weather-Watch.com
CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« on: July 15, 2012, 06:22:44 PM »
It might be interesting to know which forum users are hams. I'll start the ball rolling...I'm G6FCI, but currently inactive :(

If you're licensed, please add a comment to this thread to let us know your callsign.

Note...this board isn't just limited to licensed hams. If you would like to join in the discussons here, please feel free to do so.
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline Silversword

  • --Stan Y.
  • Posts: 955
  • Maui, Hawaii
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win XP
  • Firefox 13.0.1
    • Up Country Maui Weather
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #1 on: July 15, 2012, 06:49:23 PM »
Hi,

From the Pacific Ocean island of Maui is using ham radio with weather.  My call is KH6HHG.  Currently active on HF and VHF/UHF.  Using APRS for tracking while weather spotting.

CUL es 73,

--Stan Y.
  KH6HHG
  Maui, Hawaii
WD 10.37s Bld 62
WDL 6.05

Dell Optiplex GX280-Intel Pentium 4 CPU 3.00GHz, 4 GB RAM
Webcam: Axis 211
Wx Sta: Davis Vantage Pro 2+

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,313
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.6
  • Firefox 13.0.1
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #2 on: July 15, 2012, 07:58:37 PM »
KJ6RGX here.  Current project is figuring out how to wire up a Yamaha CM500 headset/boom mic to my HF radio, a Kenwood TS440SAT.  I have not done any projects that link my weather station to my radio's.  I do echolink, my node number is 628947.  I use IRLP for Skywarn check-ins in Sacramento as I am unable to hit the repeater from my QTH on 2m.  I'm fairly new to the hobby but so far my main interest is digital modes, JT65HF and PSK31 are where I spend most of my time.  This winter I will be learning morse code.   73  de KJ6RGX

Offline jbrooks987

  • Jim
  • Posts: 946
  • Hays, KS
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win Vista/Srvr 2008
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Hays, KS Weather
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #3 on: July 15, 2012, 08:00:43 PM »
From northwest Kansas, K0JJV.  I'm not very active these days except for occasional checkins to the local ham club's weekly 2-mtr net.  Turned the weather spotting over to the younger generation of hams in the area.

Offline n7xrd

  • Posts: 1,093
  • Steve
  • Long Beach,Wa
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Beachhouse Weather
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2012, 09:08:15 PM »
 :D  Guess my sign in says it all!!   Enjoy building equipment more than talking!!Currently active on VHF/UHF tower under construction so I can get back on the HF bands,enjoy most of the digital stuff out there!! Echolink node 43619 direct and home brew repeater node is 6613!
« Last Edit: July 15, 2012, 09:10:33 PM by n7xrd »

Offline Stevec4

  • Posts: 357
  • Boston MA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • My Current Weather
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #5 on: July 15, 2012, 09:11:13 PM »
Not licensed but use the HF radio frequently for work. How can I find out what freq's you guys are on to say hello some time.

Steve

Offline Geoffb

  • Posts: 219
  • Our Island
  • Mambajao, Camiguin Island. 9.14.39N 124.42.53E
    • geoff.baker5
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win XP
  • MS IE 8.0
    • Camiguin Island Weather
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #6 on: July 16, 2012, 01:40:32 AM »
Hi Chris and all, I used to be G3VTF in the 60's and worked 160mt's and HF around Preston and Blackburn and M/M when I was at work, with Ken Heap (Dec) G3NCZ. These days I am VK3GCB although inactive at the moment. Maybe I will try and get this island on the air and give you guy's some IOTA stuff to work at in due course.  :lol: This tower right next door I could put to good use  :D but I dunno if the government would appreciate it  :lol:
Chris just for info I cannot seem to post in this forum from my Motorola tablet running ice cream sandwich, I dont know if that is a known issue with you ?
Cheers
Geoff
Geoff
The Island of your imagination.
Camiguin.
VP2+, FARS, Wireless, W'link IP,Cisco WAG320,
 HP TC4400 WiFi, Xp pro.

Offline Jean-Robert

  • Posts: 837
  • St-Etienne-des-Gres Quebec Canada
    • jean-robert3592
    • Jean-Robert Marion
CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #7 on: July 16, 2012, 02:08:08 AM »
Hi guys, here VE2BYW since 1961 !!

73's

Jean-Robert

Offline jwt873

  • Posts: 45
  • Woodlands, MB, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 13.0
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #8 on: July 16, 2012, 02:23:16 PM »
VE4CY in Woodlands, Manitoba

I was licensed in 1974 and took some time off from 1990 to 2003 when I moved from a house to an apartment.  I bought another house in the country with lots of antenna room and wound up getting back into radio around 2005.  I've been active ever since...  (I even managed to make it out to Dayton this year :) )



Offline EricVic

  • Commercial
  • Posts: 211
  • Westcliffe, CO USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 13.0.1
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #9 on: July 16, 2012, 04:24:40 PM »
I was N4SSI but I let my license lapse. Mainly did 2 m and 70 cm, didn't do much hf
Eric

Offline rford

  • Posts: 309
  • Benson, North Carolina
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • W4RJF's Weather Site
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #10 on: July 16, 2012, 07:52:56 PM »
Hello...Ronnie W4RJF...work HF every opportunity I get  :D

Offline smokie

  • Posts: 417
  • WS2300 operational May 2007
  • Newquay, Cornwall UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win XP
  • MS IE 8.0
    • Newquay weather and much more
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #11 on: July 16, 2012, 08:14:51 PM »
G6AFA but been inactive for years

Newquay, Cornwall.UK  > WS2300 Operational since May 2007.
From 6/4/08 www.newquayweather.com
** Philip

Offline mikeym

  • Posts: 1,244
  • Thornhurst, Pa USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 14.0
    • MikeyMs Thornhurst,PA Weather
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #12 on: July 16, 2012, 10:06:55 PM »
WA3YML here from Northeastern Pennsylvania USA. Licensed since 1969, but not very active in recent years. Just a little 2 mtrs work. Used to be active with DX and satellite operations, but not in a lot of years, but I do keep the license renewed. I though I would be me active in retirement  but that hasn't happened.

Cheers

 :D

MikeyM
http://mikeymsweather.com/

Another VERY Happy WD user
Shuttle XS36v4 8 GB RAM
Davis Vantage Pro 2 wireless w/ Davis solar sensor
Laser Snow Depth Sensor LR4/Fluke 414D working in WD thanks to Brian

Offline jgillett

  • John - W7JKG
  • Posts: 943
  • Phoenix, AZ
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Safari 5.1.7
    • TiggrWeather Phoenix
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #13 on: July 17, 2012, 05:03:45 AM »
W7JKG here. Mostly 2m/70cm on the county and Skywarn emergency nets. Have had a few chats with Stan in HI on EchoLink.
John
W7JKG


Offline sv2esb

  • Panos
  • Posts: 157
  • Kozani, Greece
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win XP
  • MS IE 7.0
    • Radio-Weaher Amateur
Re: CQ CQ CQ - Who's out there?
« Reply #14 on: July 17, 2012, 11:05:22 AM »
hi,

here SV2ESB active on HF and VHF/UHF, APRS and echolink.

73  Panos