cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: add wml to website without using index.html  (Read 1625 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline garyburnett44

  • WML testers
  • Posts: 48
  • Fernilea, Isle of Skye, Scotland
    • None
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 11.0
    • Fernilea Weather
add wml to website without using index.html
« on: April 24, 2012, 10:44:19 AM »
Hello everyone.
Still evaluating WML and like its function. What I would like to do is us the wmlv1_04.swf in a page created from a dreamweaver template i.e not a link to index.html in WML folder. This works OK locally, but when I upload to webserver and view the page I get cofiguration error. Is there a way to just use the flash file?
Most interested to see if this can be solved. This same question would apply to WDL.
Thanks in anticipation
Gary

Offline JaxWeather

  • Bob
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 12,020
  • VP 2 w/FARS - WML Station: WD00007
  • Jacksonville, Fl. USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 12.0
    • JaxWeather.net
Re: add wml to website without using index.html
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2012, 04:16:26 PM »
Gary,

It would be helpful if you provided a link to the page that isn't working properly...

Also neither WML or WDL need to be nameded index  you can rename the index file that comes with each to anything you want such as wdl.html or wml.tml

-Bob

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,874
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 7.0
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: add wml to website without using index.html
« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2012, 07:19:17 PM »
You can't just use the Flash file. It needs some of code to check that the browser has Flash (and the right version), but more importantly parameters are used to tell the Flash code where to find the config file.

I've not used Dreamweaver, but doesn't it end up producing HTML? I've written PHP code that generates HTML to run WML, so maybe you can do the same with Dreamweaver?
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline JaxWeather

  • Bob
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 12,020
  • VP 2 w/FARS - WML Station: WD00007
  • Jacksonville, Fl. USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 12.0
    • JaxWeather.net
Re: add wml to website without using index.html
« Reply #3 on: April 25, 2012, 12:20:59 AM »
You should be able to enter the WDL and/or WML code directly into the code for your web page, I believe DreamWeaver has the ability to edit the raw HTML?

-Bob

Offline garyburnett44

  • WML testers
  • Posts: 48
  • Fernilea, Isle of Skye, Scotland
    • None
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 12.0
    • Fernilea Weather
Re: add wml to website without using index.html
« Reply #4 on: April 25, 2012, 03:38:57 PM »
Thanks to everyone who took the trouble to reply. This is the best weather forum around! I have used the advice and although not quite right yet, it is getting there. All I need to do now is upgrade to full version.
Cheers everyone.
 the page with the code on is http://garyburnett.co.uk/wdisplay/wx13.html. the larger map linked to this pageis still a work in progress though.
Cheers everyone
Gary