cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Steelseries Gauges for WD  (Read 137049 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jacg

  • Posts: 99
  • Ruinen, Drenthe, The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Het weer in Ruinen
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #45 on: February 08, 2012, 06:40:50 PM »
Depends on what you find an big issue Henkka.

If you have for example an ipad, and you go to youtube, you are also directed to a page optimized for ipad.

At the moment is is impossible to be compatible with all users, so then you have to make a choice.
Keep your website "old-fashioned" to satisfy all your users, or make a website with the latest technology,
and create a fallback for the ie8 xp users. Well then for me it is a very easy choice.

There will be xp users for ever, xp is almost 11 years old and end of life. Remember those days where in the
footer of a website it said: This page is optimized for Internet Explorer 7!

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,431
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 9.0.1
    • Weather Display
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #46 on: February 08, 2012, 06:46:15 PM »
W7 is so much better than XP in my humble opinion anyway :)
(and it works just fine on an older pc that was running XP (just done that here OK))

Offline BfdWx

  • Posts: 1,607
  • Branford Connecticut
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Southern CT Weather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #47 on: February 08, 2012, 07:28:38 PM »
Jacco,

Have you experienced any issues with the download of customclientraw stopping? I seem to have the issue even with bumping the default times up in gauges.js. I notice it on both the default gauges page and my website. There appears to be no issues with customclientraw being uploaded and or stopping however a qustion for Brian; What is the optimal setting for the second realtime FTP times so that there are no conflicts yet it load quickly?

Thanks

Jack

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,431
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 9.0.1
    • Weather Display
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #48 on: February 08, 2012, 07:31:10 PM »
you should not need to be needint to use the 2nd real time though?

Offline weatherc

  • Posts: 1,983
  • Salo, Finland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 9.1
    • Weatherstation Salo,FI
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #49 on: February 08, 2012, 08:42:54 PM »
Quote
Depends on what you find an big issue Henkka.
Yes, but i look at the things in little bigger view than just myself (I use W7), I see in "vistors of the site"-view. Actually about 45% are IE-users of wich 50% use older versions than IE9. Thats quite a part of all visitors. And this in a country where IE<9 user-rate are low, in middle of Europe are the rate far bigger.

Its also a managing thing, if you want to do doublettes of everything instead of creating a page what works also in IE8 (i don't care about IE<8 ), and then do double work, its your choise. I have many times allready said IE should be forbidden by law, its a pain in **** for coders with my own scripts, but have tryed to have them as IE8-compatible as possbile alltought as so many of visitors still use it.

Personally i should use much more HTML5 and all its cool stuffs if just more browsers should support it.
Quote
Keep your website "old-fashioned" to satisfy all your users
Can you call my site old-fashioned?? I should say no, and it still (almost) IE8-compatible. :)
Its more a question how you as coder tackle the IE8-probleme than nothing else.
At the end, those gauges are fully possible to get working also with IE8 and lower if wanted, its just question to be creative and learn the basics of <canvas>. And before you ask, Google is your friend in that case, so i learned it too :D
« Last Edit: February 08, 2012, 10:37:41 PM by weatherc »

Offline weatherbee

  • Posts: 726
  • Sherman, Ct.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 16.0.912.77
    • Sherman Ct. Weather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #50 on: February 08, 2012, 10:39:31 PM »
I've created a homepage with the new dials.  If an IE browser less than 9 is used it will redirect to my original homepage.  According to my stats that will be 21%. 
Sony Pentium 4, 1.6 GHZ,512 MB Ram, Windows XP Pro, SP2


Offline CNYWeather

  • Professional Trophymaker!
  • Posts: 1,522
  • Rome, New York
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win Vista/Srvr 2008
  • Chrome 17.0.963.46
    • CNYWeather.com
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #51 on: February 08, 2012, 11:05:54 PM »
Who will be the wiz and make a Solar Guage for those who dont have UV?  :)
Tony

CNYWeather.com
CWOP: CW2352
WeatherUnderground: KNYWESTM1


http://www.CNYWeather.com

I Make Trophies Too!
http://www.speedyawards.com

Offline jacg

  • Posts: 99
  • Ruinen, Drenthe, The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Het weer in Ruinen
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #52 on: February 08, 2012, 11:11:32 PM »
Henkka,

I don't want an discussion because thats not worth for me.

At first i am not the creator of the script. I just found a way to make it work in WD, thats all.
And for me it is no issue because i just redirect the ie8 users to my old page.
With "old-fashioned" i mean that you dont allow the users of modern browsers to take full advantage of their browsers.

And at last, in your first post you said: There are no way around that (tryed to found while i did my own ones without luck).
And in your second one: At the end, those gauges are fully possible to get working also with IE8 and lower if wanted.


So help us make those gauges work in every browser! ahhh you meant your own gauges, sorry english is not my native language,
thanks Jim for letting me realize that. :D

Jacco

« Last Edit: February 09, 2012, 06:36:23 AM by jacg »

Offline jacg

  • Posts: 99
  • Ruinen, Drenthe, The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Het weer in Ruinen
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #53 on: February 08, 2012, 11:21:08 PM »
Who will be the wiz and make a Solar Guage for those who dont have UV?  :)

I made the gauge Tony, pfff but how to explain it to you.. hmm you have to edit gauges.js on several places.
What i did, took the temp gauge as an example.. see where that code appears in the script.

Then copied the code and replace by solar, in customclientraw there are already the solartags   :D

Jacco

Offline jmcmurry

  • Jim McMurry
  • Posts: 2,836
  • Mauston, WI, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win XP
  • Firefox 9.0.1
    • Juneau County Weather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #54 on: February 09, 2012, 12:03:38 AM »
So help us make those gauges work in every browser!

Henkka explained what he did and he has them available on his site at http://www.nordicweather.net/phpscripts.php?en if you'd like to look them over.

- Jim

Forum Search and Google can be your best friends

Offline blainec

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 442
  • Calgary, Ab.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 11.0
    • Weather YYC
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #55 on: February 09, 2012, 04:58:14 AM »
Some of my gauges are not working and the digital displays are ready "MAM". What does this mean?

http://calgary.westerncawx.net/gauges-ssT.htm
« Last Edit: February 09, 2012, 08:46:49 PM by blainec »

Offline jacg

  • Posts: 99
  • Ruinen, Drenthe, The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Het weer in Ruinen
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #56 on: February 09, 2012, 06:31:11 AM »
Some of my gauges are not working and the digital displays are ready "MAM". What does this mean?

http://calgary.westerncawx.net/gauges/gauges-ssT.htm

You have the units checked for your customclientraw.txt.
If you have a problem with units in your customclientraw.txt, in WD in the webfiles/web page setup, custom web page setup, untick the include units.

Jacco


Offline blainec

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 442
  • Calgary, Ab.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 11.0
    • Weather YYC
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #57 on: February 09, 2012, 03:14:36 PM »
Thanks, that worked. 

« Last Edit: February 09, 2012, 03:20:54 PM by blainec »

Offline blainec

  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 442
  • Calgary, Ab.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 11.0
    • Weather YYC
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #58 on: February 09, 2012, 04:51:05 PM »
I made the gauge Tony, pfff but how to explain it to you.. hmm you have to edit gauges.js on several places.
What i did, took the temp gauge as an example.. see where that code appears in the script.

Then copied the code and replace by solar, in customclientraw there are already the solartags   :D

Jacco

I gave this a try without luck. Is there a place I can see exactly what you did. I feel I  am missing something important

Offline BfdWx

  • Posts: 1,607
  • Branford Connecticut
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.7.3
  • Safari 5.1.3
    • Southern CT Weather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #59 on: February 10, 2012, 12:26:36 AM »
Just an FYI it is very easy to change the colors and styles of the gauge. Go to this site and you can try various combinations!
http://weather.wilmslowastro.com/gaugesB/gauges.htm

Then just change the settings you wish to in gauges.js

Jack

 

cumulus