cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Steelseries Gauges for WD  (Read 131988 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline jacg

  • Posts: 99
  • Ruinen, Drenthe, The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Het weer in Ruinen
Steelseries Gauges for WD
« on: February 06, 2012, 12:40:51 PM »
When surfing the web i stumbled upon the website of Gerrit Grunwald. http://harmoniccode.blogspot.com/2010/08/java-swing-component-library.html.

I really liked those gauges and after looking for more information i found that Mark Crossley http://weather.wilmslowastro.com/ implemented those gauges for Cumulus. So i downloaded the package, and saw that he used a realtimegauge.txt file. I changed the tags into WD tags (well most of them, asked Brian to create two new ones). And luckily Brian implemented an customclientraw.txt in WD, so this can be used to create the datafeed.

The gauges on my website: http://www.hetweerinruinen.nl

And the manual and downloads here: http://www.hetweerinruinen.nl/steelseries-gaugs-for-wd

Some tags can be wrong, it was very hard finding the correct tags out of the enormous tags list.

Update:

Mark Crossley, the developer of the script picked up this thread and made some updates for WD.
The latest version can be found here: Steelseries updates


Jacco
« Last Edit: March 05, 2012, 11:09:53 PM by administrator »

Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 6,001
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 10.0
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #1 on: February 06, 2012, 02:26:39 PM »
Very nice Jacco, thanks for posting them.
I may have a play later today and see what I can come up with.  :thumbright:

dan_public

  • Guest
CROSS-PLATFORM SteelSeries Gauges for WD
« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2012, 04:30:07 PM »
Jacco,

Many thanks for excellent work! 

For folks who haven't caught the significance of the SteelSeries Gauges, these are cross-platform, real time gauges that work on any browser platform (AFAIK).  Jacco's initial efforts are great, but there is much more that can be added in the future.   For example, on Mark's SteelSeries Gauge page: http://weather.wilmslowastro.com/gauges5/gauges.htm, when you mouse-over a gauge (or click on it from an iPhone/iPad), a historical graph window pops up.   In other words, high-density information in minimal space.

While WDL and Cumulus Realtime webpage have a great look, they aren't available on iPhones, iPads, and other platforms that support Adobe Flash or Silverlight.  Access one of these webpages from your iPad, and you get a terse message that you need to download the latest version of Flash or Silverlight.   I.e. the pages are not available for "i" users. Since the iPhone/iPad platforms are growing faster than PC and Mac platforms, and are becoming the platform of choice for viewing content, this is a huge limitation.   (So huge that I wrote off WD as a weather software platform until some folks convinced me otherwise.)

Until I saw the SteelSeries Gauges and Jacco's post, the only thing available for iPhone/iPad users was more traditional approaches, including separate sets of pages specifically for iPhone/iPad platform.   That means two code bases to maintain and designing a website that would handle both.   Using the SteelSeries Gauges, you can have ONE code base and a simpler website.

I'm just starting with my own website and appreciate all of the help that you folks have offered.   OTOH, I've been a professional programmer for 20 years.   IMO, this is one of the most significant advances in weather website development.   

When my weather website is up, the first enhancement implemented will be the SteelSeries Gauges.   And I hope to add to SteelSeries for WD knowledge and code bases.

Thanks and regards,

Dan.

Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 6,001
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 10.0
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2012, 04:35:39 PM »
How did you get the customclientraw.txt file to be produced without any units?
Most of them on my own file have C or mm and that's confusing the script.  #-o

Offline jacg

  • Posts: 99
  • Ruinen, Drenthe, The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Het weer in Ruinen
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #4 on: February 06, 2012, 04:52:40 PM »
Dan,

The graphs, thats the next step, but i need something that creates great graphs to show in there.
So to be continued..

Jacco

Offline jacg

  • Posts: 99
  • Ruinen, Drenthe, The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Het weer in Ruinen
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #5 on: February 06, 2012, 05:02:48 PM »
How did you get the customclientraw.txt file to be produced without any units?
Most of them on my own file have C or mm and that's confusing the script.  #-o

Do you have in the webfiles/web page setup, custom web page setup, the include units ticked?

Jacco

Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 6,001
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 10.0
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #6 on: February 06, 2012, 05:10:50 PM »
That may be the problem, just unticked it and will see what happens.
I'll also need to make sure it doesn't effect other files I upload.  :wink:

Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 6,001
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 10.0
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #7 on: February 06, 2012, 05:16:26 PM »
That did the trick.
Now the gauges are working it's time to get them onto a proper page and start having a play.  :D

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,887
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 9.0.1
    • Weather Display
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2012, 06:38:11 PM »
HI
I like them very much
and was hoping someone would make them available for WD

I could add option to WD to create with a tick the needed file with the needed data?
but using the custom client raw is not difficult,either , to setup, your instructions are great
and using the custom client raw means you have control more,...eg to add more etc

this needs to be made a sticky :)


ps , is it fact or just opinion that iphone/ipad sales are and are going to outstrip Andriod equivalent?
as I have android phone/pad and love them :)

Offline SpireWeather

  • Posts: 460
  • Salisbury, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 5.0.1
  • Safari 5.1
    • SpireWeather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #9 on: February 06, 2012, 07:05:55 PM »
Jacco,

Further to our conversations in the Cumulus forum I would like to thank you very much for posting here. As I thought, there is a lot of interest from WD users, myself included.

Best regards,

Simon

Offline BfdWx

  • Posts: 1,607
  • Branford Connecticut
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Southern CT Weather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #10 on: February 06, 2012, 08:03:41 PM »
Having a little trouble with the conversions to US units. Most gauges converted with the changes made in gauges.js however the barometer gauge won't change. Also the wind gauge reads "kph" even though it was switched to mph. Any suggestions?

Test Page.... http://stillweather.com/gauges-ssT.htm

Thanks.

Offline jacg

  • Posts: 99
  • Ruinen, Drenthe, The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Het weer in Ruinen
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #11 on: February 06, 2012, 08:30:05 PM »
Having a little trouble with the conversions to US units. Most gauges converted with the changes made in gauges.js however the barometer gauge won't change. Also the wind gauge reads "kph" even though it was switched to mph. Any suggestions?

Test Page.... http://stillweather.com/gauges-ssT.htm

Thanks.

Check the unit tags in the clientrawlocal.txt. They are hardcoded. And the script reads the units from there.

the part: "tempunit":"C","windunit":"kph","pressunit":"hPa","rainunit":"mm"

Jacco

Offline BfdWx

  • Posts: 1,607
  • Branford Connecticut
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
    • Southern CT Weather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #12 on: February 06, 2012, 08:48:51 PM »
Quote
Check the unit tags in the clientrawlocal.txt. They are hardcoded. And the script reads the units from there.

the part: "tempunit":"C","windunit":"kph","pressunit":"hPa","rainunit":"mm"

Perfect, thanks that did the trick!

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 86,887
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 9.0.1
    • Weather Display
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #13 on: February 06, 2012, 10:24:03 PM »

Offline SpireWeather

  • Posts: 460
  • Salisbury, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 5.0.1
  • Safari 5.1
    • SpireWeather
Re: Steelseries Gauges for WD
« Reply #14 on: February 06, 2012, 11:20:59 PM »
Just wanted to thank you again for you help Jacco - this is amazing!

Here is my gauges page thus far: -

http://www.spireweather.co.uk/SteelSeries/gauges.htm

The only thing that doesn't work is inside humidity...

Simon

 

cumulus