cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Advanced alarms  (Read 3097 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Pascal66

  • Utopian
  • Posts: 83
  • France
    • 123
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 11.0a2
    • Meteo Perpignan, FR 66
Advanced alarms
« on: January 20, 2012, 11:16:43 AM »
Like "if"  "or" "and" alarms.
Is it possible to do ?

Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 6,026
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 9.0.1
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Advanced alarms
« Reply #1 on: January 20, 2012, 12:49:10 PM »
I think you may have to be a little more detailed, maybe a couple of examples?
Also, what do you want these alarms for, added to Weather Display, to use on your website or somewhere else?

Offline Pascal66

  • Utopian
  • Posts: 83
  • France
    • 123
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 11.0a2
    • Meteo Perpignan, FR 66
Re: Advanced alarms
« Reply #2 on: January 22, 2012, 12:44:49 AM »
I think you may have to be a little more detailed, maybe a couple of examples?
Also, what do you want these alarms for, added to Weather Display, to use on your website or somewhere else?
I would like to do somthing like "frost prediction alarm" but customized
I can do it with php but i like the way to use alarm in Weather Display too.
It can be "probability of rain" or "probability of wind" with "very local" weather learning
Just a 3 or 4 choice of fields, with "or" "and" choice to make an alarm

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 9.0.1
    • Weather Display
Re: Advanced alarms
« Reply #3 on: January 22, 2012, 02:12:30 AM »
there is a frost prediction alarm in WD
that is based around some assumptions
and monitors the conditions
seems to work not too bad for me here at least

Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 6,026
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win XP
  • MS IE 6.0
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Advanced alarms
« Reply #4 on: January 22, 2012, 09:19:37 AM »
I also use the alert emails for when specific conditions are reached, like yesterday when the average wind speed went over 44 knots. That also works fine.
How you would get WD to produce a forecast of high wind or rain I don't know as that would need to come from a forecast of some kind and even the Davis VP2's forecast is very basic.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 9.0.1
    • Weather Display
Re: Advanced alarms
« Reply #5 on: January 22, 2012, 08:05:15 PM »
yes, seems to be more of a wxsim thing some these ideas?

Offline Pascal66

  • Utopian
  • Posts: 83
  • France
    • 123
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 11.0a2
    • Meteo Perpignan, FR 66
Re: Advanced alarms
« Reply #6 on: January 23, 2012, 08:15:22 AM »
Thanks for the anwsers. It was just an idea.
An extension of alarms part of wd.
First because wxsim seems perfect for U.S, here in France, many of value for it are inexistants
Second, because, i just need short time and very localy based forcast.
Third, because it's funny

Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 6,026
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win XP
  • MS IE 6.0
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Advanced alarms
« Reply #7 on: January 23, 2012, 08:43:49 AM »
WXSim is fine for EU, there is data that it uses that is for U.S. users only but the METAR & SYNOP date works fine, as does the GFS.  :wink:

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 9.0.1
    • Weather Display
Re: Advanced alarms
« Reply #8 on: January 23, 2012, 09:32:28 AM »
yes, not sure you are saying wxsim does not have data for europe?

Offline Pascal66

  • Utopian
  • Posts: 83
  • France
    • 123
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 11.0a2
    • Meteo Perpignan, FR 66
Re: Advanced alarms
« Reply #9 on: February 03, 2012, 12:42:06 AM »
yes, not sure you are saying wxsim does not have data for europe?
No, Wxsim is just too much for my use.
Alarms are enough.
Btw with he short time of test for wd, i just planed to do that by myself.
Arduino, Php Mysql are usefull. My wishes are far from wd project can handle.