cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Web hosting: where to host your weather page  (Read 24702 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,119
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #30 on: November 05, 2004, 11:23:58 PM »
The only niggle I have with e-rice is that he has about a 5 second delay built into the ftp login process (at least on "my" server). In reality it hasn't caused any problems, it's just not what I have been used to. Otherwise it's just great.

Offline TNETWeather

  • Kevin Reed (KrelvinAZ)
  • Posts: 5,939
  • Gremlins are at work...
  • Mesa, AZ
    • TNET Weather Station - Mesa AZ
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #31 on: November 05, 2004, 11:52:30 PM »
Did you get the standard or the static plan.

All you need is Time, Aptitude and Desire ... and you can build just about anything...

Offline carterlake

  • Tom Chaplin
  • Posts: 2,273
  • Carter Lake, Iowa USA
    • Carter Lake, Iowa Weather
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #32 on: November 06, 2004, 12:14:00 AM »
Did you get the standard or the static plan.

Static... I'm not using anything fancy

No 5 second delay here.... are you using passive?

(Man, did I spend a frustrating 20 minutes trying to get my video pull to work... upload the basic_refresh.js file to your new server dumby!)

WD; Davis VP2 6153; Quickcam for Notebooks Pro; Boltek w/ Nexstorm; GRLevel3; Live NOAA radio

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,119
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #33 on: November 06, 2004, 12:22:38 AM »
I started with static which puts you on box 7 which runs TUX, and the static plan does not support WDL. For WDL you need a standard plan and that'll get you on an Apache box - and will also get you the FTP delay.

Offline TNETWeather

  • Kevin Reed (KrelvinAZ)
  • Posts: 5,939
  • Gremlins are at work...
  • Mesa, AZ
    • TNET Weather Station - Mesa AZ
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #34 on: November 06, 2004, 02:32:05 AM »
Static... I'm not using anything fancy

No 5 second delay here.... are you using passive?

I don't use the service at all, just curious after looking at what they offered.

I'm not sure what you mean by 5 second delay, though.

The service that I contract for remote hosting that is not my own server is a bit more expensive, but provides unlimited sub-domains, full access to tons of dynamic content capabilities, multiple databases etc... Almost everything I do is dynamically built now days..   
« Last Edit: November 06, 2004, 02:34:31 AM by krelvinaz »

All you need is Time, Aptitude and Desire ... and you can build just about anything...

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,119
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #35 on: November 06, 2004, 03:33:50 AM »
I'm not sure what you mean by 5 second delay, though.
What I mean is there is a 5 second pause during the FTP login, and it is there intentionally. This is a login sequence from filezilla:

Status:   Connecting to ftp.realweatherstation.com ...
Status:   Connected with ftp.realweatherstation.com. Waiting for welcome message...
Here is the approx 5 second pause
Response:   220 ProFTPD FTP Server ready.
Command:   USER *****************
Response:   331 Password required for *********************
Command:   PASS ******
Response:   230 User ***************** logged in.
Status:   Connected

Offline TNETWeather

  • Kevin Reed (KrelvinAZ)
  • Posts: 5,939
  • Gremlins are at work...
  • Mesa, AZ
    • TNET Weather Station - Mesa AZ
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #36 on: November 06, 2004, 05:04:59 AM »
What I mean is there is a 5 second pause during the FTP login, and it is there intentionally. This is a login sequence from filezilla:

I think this might be more of an issue of  Reverse DNS and Ident lookups.  By default, Proftp has both turned on.
Both of which can be turned off if the ISP choose to do so.


All you need is Time, Aptitude and Desire ... and you can build just about anything...

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,119
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #37 on: November 09, 2004, 06:00:55 PM »
Sounds a likely scenario. I didn't mean to imply that he put a delay in just for the heck of it. He does allow multiple (10 IIRC) concurrent ftp sessions so that's a plus.

Offline carterlake

  • Tom Chaplin
  • Posts: 2,273
  • Carter Lake, Iowa USA
    • Carter Lake, Iowa Weather
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #38 on: November 09, 2004, 10:55:02 PM »
One small problem with e-rice.net.... my FTP client is stalling during uploads... also happens using WS FTP.

I have a ticket in, but so far the admin has said their servers don't like WS FTP and that I should switch to another FTP client  8O

That's all fine and good for the occasional file upload but I can't very well switch the one in WD.

nikoshepherd, are you seeing this on your box??

WD; Davis VP2 6153; Quickcam for Notebooks Pro; Boltek w/ Nexstorm; GRLevel3; Live NOAA radio

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,020
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
    • Weather Display
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #39 on: November 09, 2004, 11:06:06 PM »
but ws_ftp is the standard  8O
maybe you need passive mode?"

Offline carterlake

  • Tom Chaplin
  • Posts: 2,273
  • Carter Lake, Iowa USA
    • Carter Lake, Iowa Weather
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #40 on: November 09, 2004, 11:08:11 PM »
but ws_ftp is the standard  8O

EXACTLY!

Quote
maybe you need passive mode?"

Tried both. I thought FTP was universal... it either works or it doesn't.

WD; Davis VP2 6153; Quickcam for Notebooks Pro; Boltek w/ Nexstorm; GRLevel3; Live NOAA radio

Offline carterlake

  • Tom Chaplin
  • Posts: 2,273
  • Carter Lake, Iowa USA
    • Carter Lake, Iowa Weather
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #41 on: November 09, 2004, 11:56:50 PM »
Downloaded and installed LeapFTP... exact same behavior.

I don't think there's anything wrong with my FTP programs... it's gotta be the server.

WD; Davis VP2 6153; Quickcam for Notebooks Pro; Boltek w/ Nexstorm; GRLevel3; Live NOAA radio

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,119
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #42 on: November 10, 2004, 12:24:22 AM »
One small problem with e-rice.net.... my FTP client is stalling during uploads... also happens using WS FTP.

I have a ticket in, but so far the admin has said their servers don't like WS FTP and that I should switch to another FTP client  8O

That's all fine and good for the occasional file upload but I can't very well switch the one in WD.

nikoshepherd, are you seeing this on your box??
No, not at all, I have one station uploading the regular webpage only, and one uploading the regular page plus WDL. BUT that may not count for much since I'm not using WD's ftp  :oops: except for the WDL.

What box are you on? I had my webpages working on the static box before I had to switch services for WDL.

I used to like WS FTP but their latest version didn't work out very well for me. I recommend Filezilla now for a general purpose FTP client. (It's free too  :D)

Offline carterlake

  • Tom Chaplin
  • Posts: 2,273
  • Carter Lake, Iowa USA
    • Carter Lake, Iowa Weather
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #43 on: November 10, 2004, 12:31:24 AM »
No, not at all, I have one station uploading the regular webpage only, and one uploading the regular page plus WDL. BUT that may not count for much since I'm not using WD's ftp  :oops: except for the WDL.

What box are you on? I had my webpages working on the static box before I had to switch services for WDL.

I used to like WS FTP but their latest version didn't work out very well for me. I recommend Filezilla now for a general purpose FTP client. (It's free too  :D)

I'm on Box7.... I'm uploading at least 14 files per session. Just one or two seems to work just fine.

I'll see what Filezilla does...

WD; Davis VP2 6153; Quickcam for Notebooks Pro; Boltek w/ Nexstorm; GRLevel3; Live NOAA radio

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,119
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
Re: Web hosting: where to host your weather page
« Reply #44 on: November 10, 2004, 02:05:18 AM »
PM me if you would like to try it to a directory on my site.