cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: VP console with real time update  (Read 101049 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline munrobaggins

  • Posts: 1,973
  • 38 mls NE Inverness UK
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #45 on: January 25, 2011, 06:31:52 PM »
Help please.

I am getting there...but v slowly...I am not getting the data through at all (first it was the image now it is the data  agghhhh)

I have both testags and clientraw going to the root directory at my website....what do I need to put in the relevant "settings" to point to these files....I have never understood this :oops: :oops:

so far the I have progressed to this




Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,502
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #46 on: January 25, 2011, 07:04:27 PM »
Make sure you edit both files...

Quote
Install:
2 paths in vp_console2.php
2 paths in jquery/jquery.console.js

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,502
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #47 on: January 25, 2011, 07:24:05 PM »
Took Lars & Bertil's script and moddificated it a little bit :lol:

Result as attached image,
- digital numbers/text
- moving wind direction & barotrend needle
- changing icon from 10 avaliable
- 24h graphs, changeble from the black buttons
- Monthly and yearly rain and rainrate changeble from RAINyr-button
- W3-validate, also marquee even if <marquee> itself don't validate

Note, it use same limits for barotrend-needle what Davis use (Daivis use 3hr but i converted it to 1 hr) and it different from what Ken's template ue.

Its heavily use jQuery as base, the graph is Flot, needle is pure javascript and AJAX is jQuery-version of it, because i like jQuery's AJAX-system, its clear and easy to manage.

I have NOT tested it on the template so i should need someone to test it for possible (surely) issues. ;)

Demo: http://www.nordicweather.net/index.php?sivu=18.1&lang=en

Download: http://www.nordicweather.net/downloads/?6

Install:
2 paths in vp_console2.php
2 paths in jquery/jquery.console.js

Enjoy! :D
Henkka


Very nice.  Where would I need to make changes to get the wind in mph, baro in mg, rain in inches, etc.?

Also need to move the scrolling vp forecast...see it in action:  http://travelingrvwx.com/vp_console2.php
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 07:32:31 PM by NorCal Dan »

Offline weatherc

  • Posts: 1,983
  • Salo, Finland
    • Weatherstation Salo,FI
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #48 on: January 25, 2011, 07:52:13 PM »
Dan,

To convrt to F, in etc. you need to tweak in two places:
jquery.console.js - add needed conversations, for windspeed there are allready one in place for m/s, just change it
vp_console2.php - change the units in the html-code

scroller...ahaa... in the css-part, change #ajaxforecast { top: 279px; } to #cajaxforecast { top: 279px; }. Forgot to change that when renamed the id's so they not are same as ajaxWDwd.js id's.

Henkka

Offline ocl

  • Posts: 49
  • Aalesund,Norway
    • Skarboevikvaeret, Aalesund, Norway
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #49 on: January 25, 2011, 09:00:42 PM »
Thank you all for this impressing script!
Got it up and running at http://www.servicesenteret.as/weather/vpconsole.php and it's just fantastic  :D :D :D :D

Regards
Ole-Chr
Aalesund - Norway

Offline Axelvold

  • Posts: 1,081
  • Axelvold / Sweden
  • Axelvold, Sverige
    • Axelvold's weather and photo
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #50 on: January 25, 2011, 09:03:59 PM »
Do not thank me, thank Axelvold, it was his idea and script, which I have adjusted a bit.
Bertil
Noo, the idea was yours so all credits goes to you! :D

Henkka

I don't think I should have all the credits for this.

I did find the idea for this script here http://www.wilcowx.com/consoleindex.php (thanks Gary) from there, I have modified the script to the version that I use today on my page.

After that so have  NBH @ Stenestads Väder and weatherc @ Nordic weather made further developments of the script and I can only say that it just gets better and better.

All who have posted here in this thread have somehow been involved in the development of this script so thanks to you also.

And as I did wrote further up in this thread, thanks to Brian for the software that we all use, without Weather Display so would we not do this today.

I find it incredible that a software and interest in the weather can bring together so many people from so many different countries across the globe, and that it leads to the development of new things, such as the templates that saratogaWX @ saratoga-weather.org have made and there are lots of other, thanks to all of you as well.




Offline plasticmoulderman

  • Posts: 1
  • Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
    • MyAutomatedHomeWeather
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #51 on: January 25, 2011, 09:30:16 PM »
ie7.css  ??  Made the change, no help...
NorCal Dan,

Around line 71 of the vp_console2.php script is the part needed to be changed. I had the same issue and now it is fixed.
« Last Edit: January 25, 2011, 09:32:04 PM by plasticmoulderman »

Offline munrobaggins

  • Posts: 1,973
  • 38 mls NE Inverness UK
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #52 on: January 25, 2011, 09:35:09 PM »
Finally, but finally...sorted and working...  :)

Offline Axelvold

  • Posts: 1,081
  • Axelvold / Sweden
  • Axelvold, Sverige
    • Axelvold's weather and photo
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #53 on: January 25, 2011, 09:47:23 PM »
@henkka

What do I have to change if I want to have the figures updating faster?

I did change this
Code: [Select]
var updates = 2; but it don't update any faster.



Offline weatherc

  • Posts: 1,983
  • Salo, Finland
    • Weatherstation Salo,FI
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #54 on: January 25, 2011, 11:04:13 PM »
scroller-positining,
it was my miss there, one way to fix it is to change the id for span id="cajaxforecast" to span id="ajaxforecast"

Axelwold,
var updates is how many times it updates
var timeout is how often it updates
 :)

To about this script. It was a half-mistake it started looking like it do  :lol:
Thanks to the jQuery-scripts i allready have in use on my site (gauges, graphs, AJAX) it was easy to copy/paste needed parts for it. jQuery is a damn powerful little javascript with lots of plugins, it do possible to do what most increadible things (from hobby-coder aspect).
Biggest "issue" was the numbers but after some Googling was it fixed too :)
For Scandinavian users: Noted the digital font can't write äöåø's, they comes out in Arial...

Henkka

Offline AM1234

  • Posts: 394
  • Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
    • Beamsville Weather Station
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #55 on: January 26, 2011, 02:46:15 AM »
The work done on this script has been tremendous, thanks to all. I was wondering if it would be possible to change the windspeed to display in km/hr, as well as having the time display in 12hr format, and the date format switched around as well.
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,502
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #56 on: January 26, 2011, 04:29:32 AM »
NorCal Dan,

Around line 71 of the vp_console2.php script is the part needed to be changed. I had the same issue and now it is fixed.

Got it, thanks.

Now to figure out how to change the other stuff...not much time for playing.  Is anybody working on porting this over to the Vue console?  I had thoughts of giving it a go, but I don't have a lot of time to invest...

Offline arthurhh

  • Tokoroa Weather Live
  • Posts: 369
  • IT Fixer
  • Tokoroa South Waikato New Zealand
    • Tokoroa Weather Live
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #57 on: January 26, 2011, 05:13:51 AM »
Neat and so easy to implement worked first time.
Particularly loved that it was all contained in a sub dir, my website root is getting somewhat crowded.

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,502
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #58 on: January 26, 2011, 05:29:20 AM »
Not sure what is supposed to be showing but I think it's the moon icon maybe??  I have converted everything to US measurements but not sure why the moon icon is not showing correctly...out of time for today...will have to work on this more later.

Offline Axelvold

  • Posts: 1,081
  • Axelvold / Sweden
  • Axelvold, Sverige
    • Axelvold's weather and photo
Re: VP console with real time update
« Reply #59 on: January 26, 2011, 06:36:54 AM »
Axelwold,
var updates is how many times it updates
var timeout is how often it updates
 :)

I did change to this
Code: [Select]
var updates = 20;
var timeout = 2; // In sec

But still no update in real time, I want to have updating every 2 or 3 second, is this possible?

F5 and then it works  :oops:
« Last Edit: January 26, 2011, 06:54:18 AM by Axelvold »



 

cumulus