Web cam software?

Hi,

I have been using a network camera for over 10 years with WD and have had three of them bit the dust lately. I don’t want to try for a fourth since they are expensive and I am considering Logitech webcam instead.

My question is: what is everyone using for software with a webcam? I haven’t been able to learn much about the bundled software and if it can take a picture on schedule and dump into a file for WD to pickup and upload. My station is on a dial-up. Does the WD’s capture routine in the program operate a webcam like it did such a great job with my network camera? I just want to capture a photo every hour and let WD send it up to my webpage.

Thanks,
Jim

WDWebcamCapture Software works fine with the Logitech webcam series - the pick of the bunch is the Quick-Cam Pro 9000 (I have tried three different Logitech cameras) and is ok. There are better cameras like the Panasonic BN140A ?? (can’t quite remember the proper model name) Niko will help here… :slight_smile:

Graeme

Close, BL-C140A :wink:

No wonder I couldn’t google it! #-o

Thanks for the info on Logitech too. After three failures in two months, 2 in one week, I am kind of gun shy on network cameras for awhile. The station/computer is unattended now until next June so I have awhile to think about it.

Jim

I use until few years, free YAWCAM software for surveillance and WD with my Logitech webcam.

It

What type of network cams did you have problems with?

For what it is worth I use a pogram called “Easy Web Cam” ang I am using a Logitech Sphere Camera never had a problem with it, see the picture at the top of my website.

Good luck in your search

Geoff

I cant begin to tell you how many different software applications for Webcam’s i’ve tried over the years… Way to many to count!