cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android  (Read 148489 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Weerstation

  • Posts: 274
  • The Netherlands
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • MS IE 9.0
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #465 on: January 19, 2013, 07:06:43 PM »
Start a new thread for this Apple thing, please.
It's going to be confusing.
This thread is about Sietse's iWDL for iPhone and Android.

Thank you.
Vantage Vue (Firmware 2.14 EU) - WeatherDisplay 10.37R build 81 - USB Weatherlink IP Data Logger

Windows 10 Home 64-bit - HP Pavilion G7 Intel Core I3 2.4 GHz 4 Gb

Offline meteotortosa

  • Posts: 5
  • Tortosa-Baix Ebre-Tarragona-Catalunya
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Chrome 25.0.1364.172
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #466 on: March 26, 2013, 06:50:34 PM »
Hi,

I'm using your script (www.meteotortosa.cat/iwdl), and I've two questions:

- I use UTC time for my data, how can I add "UTC" behind the hour?
- Rain Rate is show in mm/min, and I like to mm/hr. How can I fix it?

Thanks,

Lluís

P.D.: I translate it to Catalan, how can I send you?
« Last Edit: March 26, 2013, 06:55:33 PM by meteotortosa »

Offline Brett

  • Posts: 47
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 6.2
  • Chrome 26.0.1410.43
    • Kenley Weather
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #467 on: April 07, 2013, 08:15:02 AM »
Hi I have been using "Weather Dsplay Live for iPhone and Android" for some time now. http://home2.btconnect.com/brettoliver/iwdl/#home
I have my Weather cam and a weather radar page set but have some problems as the image size on my cam and radar page is too large to display using this "app".

My Samsung S3 can display both images full screen but using the app I have to scroll around to see them as they are displayed in a small frame. If you look at the Web cam and Radar on my site pages you will prob see the same on your browser.

http://home2.btconnect.com/brettoliver/iwdl/#home

I have tried it on a iPod Touch and both images fill the screen but you are unable to scroll around to see the full image.

Is there a way to get the image to use the whole screen or use a larger frame?


Offline andro700

  • Chuck
  • Posts: 3,346
  • Mohall North Dakota
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 21.0
    • Chuck's Weather Page
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #468 on: May 19, 2013, 04:58:21 AM »
I have it set up. It works on my desktop computer on Firefox. But when I try to use Safari on my IPhone the screen is black. Any ideas.

Here is a link to my page.

http://www.chucksweather.com/iwdl/index.html#home

Chuck
« Last Edit: May 19, 2013, 01:52:51 PM by andro700 »

Offline meteotortosa

  • Posts: 5
  • Tortosa-Baix Ebre-Tarragona-Catalunya
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Chrome 26.0.1410.63
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #469 on: May 19, 2013, 01:48:03 PM »
Hi I have been using "Weather Dsplay Live for iPhone and Android" for some time now. http://home2.btconnect.com/brettoliver/iwdl/#home
I have my Weather cam and a weather radar page set but have some problems as the image size on my cam and radar page is too large to display using this "app".

My Samsung S3 can display both images full screen but using the app I have to scroll around to see them as they are displayed in a small frame. If you look at the Web cam and Radar on my site pages you will prob see the same on your browser.

http://home2.btconnect.com/brettoliver/iwdl/#home

I have tried it on a iPod Touch and both images fill the screen but you are unable to scroll around to see the full image.

Is there a way to get the image to use the whole screen or use a larger frame?

I think you have to edit iwdl.css

I did it some time ago, but I don't remember now what I edit

This is my iwdl web: http://www.meteotortosa.cat/iwdl/#home

Offline andro700

  • Chuck
  • Posts: 3,346
  • Mohall North Dakota
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 21.0
    • Chuck's Weather Page
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #470 on: May 27, 2013, 03:17:22 AM »
Got mine working. Deleted iwdl folder and uploaded files and it working now.

Chuck

Offline novelistus

  • Posts: 6
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.7.5
  • Chrome 18.0.1025.168
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android / Black Screen
« Reply #471 on: July 10, 2013, 07:00:30 PM »
I have set up WDL for iPhone and I can see the website on my browsers but not my iOS devices. All I get is a black screen.

I deleted the iwdl directory on my website and installed new, but still all I get is a black screen on the iOS devices. Anybody any idea ?

I also get the black screens at sietse.net/iwdl so I guess its not a iOS issue.

any help appreciated.

Solved / The iPhone and iPad were set to "Private Browsing". All back to working order since I changed that.

cheers

Ernie
« Last Edit: July 11, 2013, 12:04:53 AM by novelistus »

Offline novelistus

  • Posts: 6
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.7.5
  • Chrome 18.0.1025.168
Webcam pictures cached
« Reply #472 on: July 11, 2013, 12:11:52 AM »
hey, all ya gurus out there ;-)

my iwdl works fine with the clientraw data

soartherockies.com/iwdl

but when I look at the webcam picture then it always shows the same picture unless I clear the Safari iOS cash.

The webcam.jpg file gets uploaded fine, I checked the timestamps. And if I access the webcam file directly

soartherockies.com/remote/live_weather2013/webcam.jpg

then I get the updated webcam picture.

Is this something (the caching of the webcam picture) which I can avoid (if so, where), or is this to be done in the iwdl code ?

I do have a similar issue with the GIF files uploaded from WD (build 69). I can only get the actual file by clearing the cache in the browser (Safari, Chrome,..). 


I am sure I am not the only one having this issue and I am sure there is a remedy

cheers

Ernie

Offline jensb

  • Posts: 239
  • Sweden
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 27.0.1453.116
    • Gudmundsbyn
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #473 on: July 11, 2013, 06:04:24 AM »
My iWDL is working fine, both with the clientraw.txt and the webcam image. On two separate WD setups

http://gudmundsbyn.se/iwdl/

http://vildafisken.com/iwdl/


Offline scottct1

  • SatelliteGuy!
  • Posts: 27
  • I am Scott from SatelliteGuys!
  • Newington, CT USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 22.0
    • SatelliteGuys
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #474 on: July 19, 2013, 07:29:20 PM »
One of the things I notice is that many times I load up on my iPhone and the information shown is days old like its reading from the cache.  I do a refresh yet still get the old forecast. 

Is there is way to force it to refresh?

http://weather.satelliteguys.us/iwdl/
- Scott

Owner / Founder - SatelliteGuys.US - America's Most Popular Satellite Discussion Forum
http://www.satelliteguys.us

NEW Live Weather from our SatelliteGuys Headquarters in Newington, CT - http://weather.satelliteguys.us

Offline Criger

  • Posts: 72
  • Storuman, Sweden
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.8
  • Firefox 22.0
    • Storuman, Sweden
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #475 on: August 10, 2013, 04:30:36 PM »
Whenever I use iWDL I get a bunch of error messages in the Apache log of missing .png files like so:

Code: [Select]

[Sat Aug 10 18:17:40 2013] [error] [client  ] File does not exist: /public_html/storumanvader.se/apple-touch-icon.png
[Sat Aug 10 18:17:40 2013] [error] [client  ] File does not exist: /public_html/storumanvader.se/apple-touch-icon-precomposed.png
[Sat Aug 10 18:17:40 2013] [error] [client  ] File does not exist: /public_html/storumanvader.se/apple-touch-icon-114x114.png
[Sat Aug 10 18:17:40 2013] [error] [client  ] File does not exist: /public_html/storumanvader.se/apple-touch-icon-114x114-precomposed.png
[Sat Aug 10 18:17:40 2013] [error] [client  ] File does not exist: /public_html/storumanvader.se/apple-touch-icon.png
[Sat Aug 10 18:17:39 2013] [error] [client  ] File does not exist: /public_html/storumanvader.se/apple-touch-icon-precomposed.png
[Sat Aug 10 18:17:39 2013] [error] [client  ] File does not exist: /public_html/storumanvader.se/apple-touch-icon-114x114.png
[Sat Aug 10 18:17:39 2013] [error] [client  ] File does not exist: /public_html/storumanvader.se/apple-touch-icon-114x114-precomposed.png


The images seem to be called from all.min.js. After googling the names I found that they seem to be for when you've added it to the home screen, and are supposed to be local to the phone.
Yet it still looks like the script tries to find them on the server and fails?

Not a huge problem but I've been a bit bothered by the errors and now decided to find out where they come from. :)

/Chris

Offline giordolo

  • Posts: 76
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 6.2
  • Chrome 31.0.1650.63
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #476 on: December 26, 2013, 02:17:28 PM »
Two issues:
- webcam image and radar image are too little and has border bar. Not good. I removed px dimension in iwdl.js but nothing happened. Where to change?
All the world likes this image format ? (attach 1)
- second issue: could be useful to stop the back button on top of the page. When scrolling a page must be back on top to go back and that not useful

regards to all

Offline calljj

  • Posts: 50
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 9.2.1
  • Safari 0.8.2
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #477 on: February 27, 2016, 04:40:25 PM »
Bringing this thread back from the dead!

So anyone see their iwdl site using chrome on the iPhone/iPad?
Works fine on safari, but chrome just displays the background colour and that's it.

J

Offline calljj

  • Posts: 50
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 44.0
Re: Weather Display Live for the iPhone and Android
« Reply #478 on: March 01, 2016, 11:32:49 AM »
ok, so found out the reason why nothing loading on IOS chrome is due to the deprecation of windows.opendatabase which is used to control the display measurement units

so... if you want to share your page and have it display, say on facebooks built in browser when trying to share a link and also on google then you'll need to get around this.
you need to open the iwdl.js and scroll right to the bottom.

around line 1945 you'll see

Code: [Select]
if (window.openDatabase) {
            // Open database

            jQT.dbOpen("iwdl", "1.0", "Settings", 5000);
            jQT.dbCreateTables({ "createTables" : [ { "table": "settings", "property": [ {"name": "setting", "type": "text"},
                                                                                         {"name": "value", "type": "text" } ] } ] } );
           jQT.dbSelectAll("settings", function(result) {
                for (var i = 0; i < result.rows.length; i++) {
                    var row = result.rows.item(i);
                    settings[row['setting']] = row['value'];
                }
                finishStartup();
            });
        } else {
            finishStartup();
        }


change it to

Code: [Select]
try{
      if (window.openDatabase) {
            // Open database

            jQT.dbOpen("iwdl", "1.0", "Settings", 5000);
            jQT.dbCreateTables({ "createTables" : [ { "table": "settings", "property": [ {"name": "setting", "type": "text"},
                                                                                         {"name": "value", "type": "text" } ] } ] } );
           jQT.dbSelectAll("settings", function(result) {
                for (var i = 0; i < result.rows.length; i++) {
                    var row = result.rows.item(i);
                    settings[row['setting']] = row['value'];
                }
                finishStartup();
            });
        } else {
            finishStartup();
        }

 } catch(err) {
 finishStartup();
       }


this will then catch the error if one occurs and continues to display the data using the default measurement units.

Hope this heps others