cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: thinking of moving soil sensors  (Read 5829 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aardvark

  • Posts: 6,400
  • Des Moines, Iowa
  • Des Moines, Iowa, USA
    • Des Moines, Iowa Weather and Climate
Re: thinking of moving soil sensors
« Reply #15 on: August 02, 2009, 03:48:35 AM »
at one time I had a near ground sensor and data.. last summer.  I could get it refitted and installed again.

One other nice thing about WD.. I can get data from WD, weatherlink only shows it on the console not anywhere else.  They say that the datalogger is incapable of recording the extra data to their data base.
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Mojave;https://www.weatherlink.com/embeddablePage/show/1c484adbfa914d1aa10a58ad53ccd563/summary

Offline aardvark

  • Posts: 6,400
  • Des Moines, Iowa
  • Des Moines, Iowa, USA
    • Des Moines, Iowa Weather and Climate
Re: thinking of moving soil sensors
« Reply #16 on: August 02, 2009, 10:47:49 PM »
Made the switch.. changed the station ID on the shed temp.  and took the 2nd probe and using it for a soil surface temperature. Still need to take some photos for documentation, but I put it on the rear side of my soil moisture mast, down through pvc pipe, right angle bend to an piece of pvc I cut length wise (painted black) and it sits on the surface of the soil.  I figure that will give me a better reading as to maximum temp.   I also  didn't cement the pipe this time so I can get it apart easier  if needed.
http://home.mchsi.com/~weatherdata/customscreen2.gif



Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Mojave;https://www.weatherlink.com/embeddablePage/show/1c484adbfa914d1aa10a58ad53ccd563/summary

Offline TokKiwi

  • Techno Dad
  • Posts: 4,312
  • Mech Engineer and Hobbyist
  • Tokoroa, Sth Waikato, New Zealand
    • Tokoroa North Weather
Re: thinking of moving soil sensors
« Reply #17 on: August 02, 2009, 11:50:57 PM »
That's great - it is possible you could use that as a night-time cloud sensor as well, you just have to select it under Setup, Main Screen and Miscellaneous, it is only looked at from 5mins after sunset and up to 5 mins before sunrise when it takes over from the solar sensor, or something like that.  You just have to work out the maximum temp difference below the ambient that you get.  It may need a 1/2" piece of polystyrene under it to stop soil temp radiating heat into it at nighttime to allow it to get below ambient.  Just watch it at nighttime to see if there is a difference.  Perhaps the ambient air will keep it warm with a breeze.  It's not a perfect arrgt because of these interferences but... 
Dad's have hobbies because they are children's rugby, football and Committee Fathers!!

Offline aardvark

  • Posts: 6,400
  • Des Moines, Iowa
  • Des Moines, Iowa, USA
    • Des Moines, Iowa Weather and Climate
Re: thinking of moving soil sensors
« Reply #18 on: August 02, 2009, 11:57:11 PM »
Tough times ahead....
Wife is making her recipes for the fair.. a Cinnamon roll  in the experimental  stage.. either or and pecans, raisins..    then we picked peaches.  The danged squirrels and birds are attacking.  I have live traps out there and we are getting some anyway despite the critters.

I haven't thought of doing the cloud sensor  but will give it some thought.
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Mojave;https://www.weatherlink.com/embeddablePage/show/1c484adbfa914d1aa10a58ad53ccd563/summary

Offline TokKiwi

  • Techno Dad
  • Posts: 4,312
  • Mech Engineer and Hobbyist
  • Tokoroa, Sth Waikato, New Zealand
    • Tokoroa North Weather
Re: thinking of moving soil sensors
« Reply #19 on: August 03, 2009, 06:12:07 AM »
At just after 1am, it is showing 2deg colder than ambient ie 71deg vs 73deg and KCCI says there is a clear sky out there. If you did a trial with polystyrene underneath as a ground heat barrier, it should get colder.  But that may not be what you want for a grass or surface temp sensor...  Interesting.  Would expect about an 8deg difference for you.
Dad's have hobbies because they are children's rugby, football and Committee Fathers!!

Offline aardvark

  • Posts: 6,400
  • Des Moines, Iowa
  • Des Moines, Iowa, USA
    • Des Moines, Iowa Weather and Climate
Re: thinking of moving soil sensors
« Reply #20 on: August 03, 2009, 12:59:29 PM »
weather  alert radio went off last night, granddaugter was nervous... I told her that the storm was  far away, then she asked why I closed two of the windows.  I said in case the wind picked up that I didn't want it to hit those windows.   anyway we got 0.25 inches over a couple of hours.  Supposed to hit in the 90s and chance for storms tonight.  Looks like how things will be this week.

Well.. it is too muddy to get to the sensor right now.
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Mojave;https://www.weatherlink.com/embeddablePage/show/1c484adbfa914d1aa10a58ad53ccd563/summary

Blackjack52

  • Guest
Re: thinking of moving soil sensors
« Reply #21 on: August 03, 2009, 08:37:36 PM »
Been watching this thread.

With our new pond/waterfall, I want to keep abreast of the -3"ground temp/soil surface temp/pond rim temp/pond temp -15" to monitor the underground autofill, pond, and waterfall. I recently installed Soil Moist x2 and Soil Temp x3.

Thinking of moving temps from soil moist to soil surface and pond water surface.

http://www.knology.net/~blackjack52/wxpond.php
« Last Edit: August 03, 2009, 08:39:27 PM by MadALwx »

 

cumulus