Multiple data sources

Greetings

Does the Linux version of WD support multiple data sources?

What I have in mind is getting most of my data from a La CRosse WS 2310 but with extra measurements from 1-wire temperature sensors (pool & solar eating temp!!) and a home made sunshine gauge.

If there is this capability, how do they integrate into the displays…

Many thanks

Robin

Sadly one-wire is not supported by linux WD

unfortunetly the dll files i have used (tmex) are windows files, and cant be used in linux

Chris

Hi Chris

Writing a device driver for one-wire shouldn’t occupy more than a few hours - if I know what the interface is to WD then I’ll knock one up (its what I do for a living!!).

In fact if WD could suck data out of a pipe or file then anything could be interfaced to it including raw satellite data etc :-))

Robin

Hi Robin
here is some Java code for the dallas 1 wire:
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/owWx3.zip

Maybe you could convert that to a Kylix component I could use in WD???
8O

if you could help me robin with the support for the 1 wire, then you can have a free version of WD :slight_smile:

I’m on it already - at least I’m hunting out examples of 1-wire interfacing in Linux. There appears to be quite a few so I think the main requirement will be to determine the API for WD.

I think perhaps a simple pseudo tty device pipe with the 1-wire application at one end getting data via the serial port (and a 1-wire adapter) and WD at the other end. i.e. treat it like many of the existing weather station base-units shoving data up a serial port!!

Time to switch to private email - I’ll keep the list posted on progress…

Robin.

if you can pull something out of the hat Robin, there wil be some happy people around!
I use Kylix as the compiler in linux

(and i need to the web graph rain/hum scale too!)

Take a look at the AAG Web Site (Download Section) They have some sample DELPHI code (Windows version of Kylix!)

Hi