cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro  (Read 5399 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline rain

  • Posts: 190
  • Peristeri Athens - Greece
    • Μeteo station Peristeri Athens - Greece
Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« on: February 18, 2009, 09:00:44 PM »
Hi all.
I would like to make a question ,how many meters away we can use simple usb cable for logiteck 9000 pro ? and how many meters  away we can use USB cable with SIGNAL BOOSTER like this .From your experiences

http://www.msystems.gr/v_products.asp?v_Cat=3330&v_Item=3138

Thank you

Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 5,986
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #1 on: February 18, 2009, 09:22:50 PM »
I'm sure I remember reading that you can use 4 or 5 of the active USB cables linked together before you start getting a loss of signal. So that would be about 20 or 25 metres.

Offline munrobaggins

  • Posts: 1,973
  • 38 mls NE Inverness UK
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #2 on: February 18, 2009, 10:01:00 PM »
This problem of max 5 metre cables is primarily to do with the cable delay spec down the line ....you can get some info here from usb.org, together with ways of making lengths over 5m feasible (active extenders/hubs etc)... trying to maintain the signal without major loss/degradation is often achieved up to x5 of active extenders/hubs, but as always it is the quality of the equipment/cables that will play a part, particularly if a usb2 device is being used.


Offline rain

  • Posts: 190
  • Peristeri Athens - Greece
    • Μeteo station Peristeri Athens - Greece
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #3 on: February 18, 2009, 10:50:35 PM »
This problem of max 5 metre cables is primarily to do with the cable delay spec down the line ....you can get some info here from usb.org, together with ways of making lengths over 5m feasible (active extenders/hubs etc)... trying to maintain the signal without major loss/degradation is often achieved up to x5 of active extenders/hubs, but as always it is the quality of the equipment/cables that will play a part, particularly if a usb2 device is being used.



Thank you
Do you know if 5 + 5 meters  USB cable with SIGNAL BOOSTER + 1,8 meters camera cable it is work well or no?Because Martin before said to me 20-25 meters USB cable with SIGNAL BOOSTER  it work well with logiteck 9000 pro

Offline scudlly

  • ((Trev))
  • Posts: 100
  • Geelong, Victoria ,Australia
    • Geelong Weather
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #4 on: February 18, 2009, 10:51:58 PM »
I am using  a usb extender via cat5 cable with the logitech 9000 works upto 150feet only problem they are expensive

http://www.vpi.us/usbc5.html

Trev


Offline Budgie

  • Martin
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 5,986
  • CWOP: CW7959
  • Lochaber, Scotland
    • Lochaber-Weather
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #5 on: February 19, 2009, 12:01:47 AM »
Dimitris,

I have two of those active USB cables (10m) you linked too in your first post (no signal booster),  plus the 1.8m camera cable running my Logitec Pro5000 in an outside case and that's been working fine for well over a year without me doing anything too it.  :wink:
The active USB cables don't need a signal booster as they do the same thing.
I think it was on the back of the packet that the cables came in that it said not to put more than 5 of them together.

How far do you need to go with yours? 

Offline arthurhh

  • Tokoroa Weather Live
  • Posts: 369
  • IT Fixer
  • Tokoroa South Waikato New Zealand
    • Tokoroa Weather Live
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #6 on: February 19, 2009, 05:34:29 AM »
I am using  a usb extender via cat5 cable with the logitech 9000 works upto 150feet only problem they are expensive

http://www.vpi.us/usbc5.html

Trev

Expensive nah see here http://www.dealextreme.com/details.dx/sku.6640 I use these at 100 feet no problem, have tried them with low power devices at 100 metres okay

Offline TokKiwi

  • Techno Dad
  • Posts: 4,312
  • Mech Engineer and Hobbyist
  • Tokoroa, Sth Waikato, New Zealand
    • Tokoroa North Weather
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #7 on: February 19, 2009, 05:42:54 AM »
The Logitech QC Pro 9000 is very particular on cable quality, I only have one active cable plus a 2m extension plus the 1.5m original cable and I have suffered some picture quality loss and flexibility.  (USB2.0)
Dad's have hobbies because they are children's rugby, football and Committee Fathers!!

Offline rain

  • Posts: 190
  • Peristeri Athens - Greece
    • Μeteo station Peristeri Athens - Greece
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #8 on: February 19, 2009, 05:45:55 AM »
Dimitris,

I have two of those active USB cables (10m) you linked too in your first post (no signal booster),  plus the 1.8m camera cable running my Logitec Pro5000 in an outside case and that's been working fine for well over a year without me doing anything too it.  :wink:
The active USB cables don't need a signal booster as they do the same thing.
I think it was on the back of the packet that the cables came in that it said not to put more than 5 of them together.

How far do you need to go with yours? 


Martin i want to go total lenght 11,5 meters away ,for this reason i ask you ,because before with old logiteck camera comunicate with simple usb cable i do not had problems ,but when i put the new camera 9000 pro i have problem i do not have signal !!!.
Thank you

Offline iomkiwi

  • Posts: 195
  • Kerikeri, Bay of Islands, NZ
    • Kerikeri Weather
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #9 on: February 19, 2009, 06:45:13 AM »
I usually have mine connected with one 5m active cable plus the original cable on the camera, after seeing this post and having two more active cables on the shelf i have hooked them up and everything seems to be just the same, check out my site now I will leave them hooked up.
www.weather.radioyachting.com currently using 3 x 5m active cables
Alan


Davis VP2+ with FARS
Boltek, and Blitzortung lightning
Win7 pro
Weather Display, WXsim, L2K,

Offline rain

  • Posts: 190
  • Peristeri Athens - Greece
    • Μeteo station Peristeri Athens - Greece
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2009, 10:32:42 AM »
Thank you all   :)
Today i buy 5+5 meters usb booster cable like this

http://www.e-shop.gr/show_per.phtml?id=PER.750308

and all work fine with my logiteck 9000 pro ,here i have the link from my web camera ,but is so large size and it look to wood outside from my waterproof box at left side of the picture ,this days i will building better

http://www.geocities.com/peristericam/camera.html

Offline TokKiwi

  • Techno Dad
  • Posts: 4,312
  • Mech Engineer and Hobbyist
  • Tokoroa, Sth Waikato, New Zealand
    • Tokoroa North Weather
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2009, 06:32:19 PM »
That's good Dimitris - even in the dark of 8:25pm  it still shows a good picture, I mean it is still a dark picture but trees are easily defined and there is a good colour of blue there.  I had to alter the colour settings a lot to get more natural daytime colours but that is easy too.

Graeme
Dad's have hobbies because they are children's rugby, football and Committee Fathers!!

Offline rain

  • Posts: 190
  • Peristeri Athens - Greece
    • Μeteo station Peristeri Athens - Greece
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2009, 07:14:56 PM »
Graeme i am new to logiteck 9000 pro ,but i press the button low light booster from software and for this reason the trees easily defided ,the day it is not necessary of caurse .But i am happy where i have 5 + 5 + 1.8 camera cable meters total 11.80 meters away  :D

Offline TokKiwi

  • Techno Dad
  • Posts: 4,312
  • Mech Engineer and Hobbyist
  • Tokoroa, Sth Waikato, New Zealand
    • Tokoroa North Weather
Re: Question about lenght usb cable for Logiteck 9000 pro
« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2009, 07:40:15 PM »
Yes that is good for two active cables! 

You can alter the colours inside WD easily if you think they are too strong or bright in the daytime, very sensitive controls but some you can set using Logitech controls, some good to do in WD.  You will find a good compromise later... :)
Dad's have hobbies because they are children's rugby, football and Committee Fathers!!

 

cumulus