Current State of WD Linux

I know Brian is hoping some day to get some time to do a little linux WD work, I thought it would be a good idea to start another thread, to find out (1) how many people are or are still interest in linux WD, and (2) what are the current issues we are having.

1. I am :smiley:

2. My major issues are APRS causing WD to close itself, image issue problems(ie summary.png can be huge one sec, then small next sec), some of the offsets donā€™t work(rainfall for one), and screen image capture when updating.

Just a thought.
:idea:
Chris

Well, if no one else will post, I for myself have good news. I grew tired of Mandrake, and replaced it with Mepis (a debian based distro). My image size problems appear ā€œgoneā€. So that is one my problem gone for me :smiley:

Chris

I would love WD for Linux, but seem to be stuck since I have a 1-wire station and there has not been any support for it so far. :cry: So untill then, all I can do is sit on my anemometer and spin.

Hi ray
one thing that could work:
Phillip Gladstone has a linux program for the dallas 1 wire stations
if he could get it to create a clientraw.txt file (see the clientrawdescription.txt file ), then wd can read that inā€¦using the client server setup and tick to use the clientraw.txt file
( i think thats in the linux version?)
anyway, i am nearly finsihed adding some (alot of work) things to the windows version, so then over the next few weeks i work on bringing out a new linux version (with the control panel and view panel added, etc)

I just checked and the clientraw.txt is not being created.
yep, we know that the windows version will always ā€œreign supremeā€ :lol:
It is still, by far the best linux weather software there is.

Buford Picklefeather

in laws have gone now
graphs in the windows version i nearly have finished
working on the lunix version for the last 3 hours,ā€¦

good news :slight_smile:
i have got it compiled, with the auto scale graph code re compiled