Webcam capture software

A local pub landlord has offered to setup a webcam for us, as he has great views of the villages and we don’t! So I’m trying to find some good webcam software to set them up with. Am I right in thinking that the WD webcam system is made up from a 3rd party webcam software? Is there a standalone version? Can anyone recommend any good webcam software that can upload images to my server, and create timelapse videos etc?

Hi,

I have been using “Easy Web Cam” now for a couple of years and never had a problem with it, it is a freebie but for a couple of pounds you can have their trade mane removed and put in what ever text you like, it is a stand alone program, you can find it in Google, “Easy Web Cam”

Geoff

Thanks Geoff, I was trying Easy Web Cam this morning, but it doesn’t create the timelapse video that the WD system can create. Also there are no image overlay options.

Fwink is a good free program, it does allow for overlay but not time lapse that I am aware of…
http://lundie.ca/fwink/

-Bob

Yea I tried that one this morning too :slight_smile: Couldn’t get it to run. It kept crashing when ever I selected my camera as the device.

What Kind and model of webcam?

I have used it with Microsoft VX-6000, Logitech Pro 4000, Pro 5000 and Pro 9000

-Bob

webcamxp, never used it myself.

An IP camera would be the best for that pub situation, then all the image handling could be done on a remote PC just accessing the cam’s own server. I mean you don’t want to be going to the pub all the time to mess with the PC, oh wait, hmmmm, maybe this isn’t such a good suggestion :lol:

Yes exactly. Any excuse to nip out to the pub! I want to keep the costs down, so it won’t be an IP cam. I’m using a cheap usb cam which actually generates a good imagewith great light handling, and excellent low light handling. It’s made by Advent - probably rebranded.