modify OS rain bucket from 1.0mm to 0.1mm?

Hi peeps

I am a total noob at this lark and laymens terms are really needed (where possible)

My rain bucket, as i am sure your aware is set to 1.0mm, this aint much cop here in the UK
Sometimes we only have a slight rain, could only be 0.2mm maybe less, therefore the bucket
will not pick it up.

Obviously and upgraded bucket is not an option as it will not work with my console (unless OS
have 1?)

So, From what a read a little while back (another make of bucket) was modified, or was thinking
about doing it anyway, can i do anything with my bucket?

can i fill (with the lightest of material) parts of the trays to make them smaller? thus giving a
making it tip sooner and use WD to set the offset?

Is this possible or will it throw the lot out?

You could do it like that but you need to know exactly the volume you fill and how the weight of that filler is going to act on the tip. It maybe easier to calculate for making the catchment larger and leave the bucket size as it is.

I did it for my Le Crosse rain gauge HERE but I’ve still to actually make the thing. :wink:

Budgie’s right, modifying the tipper for a 10x increase in sensitivity isn’t feasible without a lot of advanced engineering. It’s a very small gauge so you are dealing with a very small amount of water for 0.1mm (do the math). The only reasonable option is to increase the funnel size. Beware of overdoing it though, you don’t want to exceed the maximum flow the gauge can handle or it won’t read correctly when it really does rain :wink:

Quite easy to do. Care with buying funnels, they quote the OD which is very different from the one you want - i.e. 180mm funnel possibly has an ID 4 or more mm less

see topic

Once it’s sorted you have to cut it to fit in your existing bucket and alter the offset for rain
control panel>offset see piccie
Mine worked OK for all the time I had the OS