Are you a private weather station owner in the UK?

Hi! I am a geography student at the University of Hull and I’m hoping to collect some wind speed readings from across the UK to use as data in my dissertation. The information I need is from people who own private domestic weather stations that are attached to the roof of their houses or something similar. Please could you fill out the few questions below if you fit this description:

1. What was the annual average wind speed you recorded for 2006?

2. If possible, what were the quarterly wind speed averages for 2006?
    Jan-Mar: Jul-Sept:
    Apr-Jun: Oct-Dec:

3. What is the location of your weather station? E.g. an OS grid reference or an address with which I can find a grid reference myself.

4. Where is your weather station positioned? E.g. house roof.

5. Roughly how far off the ground is your weather station positioned?

6. Are there any surroundings that may affect the wind speeds your weather station records? E.g. trees, buildings, etc.

I will really appreciate any information that can be offered and anyone who has any advice that may help me it would be fantastic to hear!

Thank you very much!
Trish Hall Xxx

P.S. For anyone who’s interested I will be using this information in my dissertation to give accurate measurements of the power available to be produced by a range of domestic private wind turbines (such as the one on sale at B&Q) which I will then use to calculate the cost effectiveness of such a device and how this differs across the country.

Hi Trish and welcome to the forum. I’ll try this again. My browser did something very odd when I tried to post this.

1. 6.5mph
  2. Jan-Mar 6.3mph, Apr-Jun 6.0 mph, Jul-Sep 6.4 mph, Oct-Dec 7.3 mph
  3. SD 326 348
  4. The anemometer is mounted on a pole fixed to the rear wall of the house and is about 5 feet above the peak of the roof.