Got ADSL but WD still tries to dial in :(

Got a little problem here ( well I’m new to a permanent connection :slight_smile: ):
I’ve installed ADSL yesterday and all seems to be working fine . There are some problems though : for one : WD still tries to dial in even though I’ve ticked the "ihave apermanent connection " box . I even removed all ISP’s from the ISP box. I did connect the phone cable from the adsl splitter to my phone - inlet of my computer , according to the instructions of my modem this was the best way to go , could this be the problem ?? I’ve also noticed that Norton antivirus live-update also tries to open the modem-port and dial in. Anyone got any pointers for me on how to solve this ??

WD 9.84a
windows 2000 sp3
256MB ram
alcatel speedtouch adsl modem ( ethernet modem )

I’ve configured the modem with the cd that came with it , and everything works perfect apart from the above problems…

You do have the LAN output from your ADSL modem connected to your network card in your computer? If so:

Try opening MS Internet Explorer, Tools, Internet Options, Connections. Delete anything under Dial-up settings. Click in LAN Settings and tick Automatically detect settings. Click OK You may also try deleting any Dial-up connections you have under settings, Network and Dial-up Connections.

thanks !! that did the trick …I can still add the dial-up connection again when needed ( if , and only if my new dsl connection is out :lol: ) right ?

Yes you can. But why delete them entirely. If you have checked under the Internent Options in Internet Explorer “Dial whenever a network connection is not available”, it will do just that. If you loose your DSL your system will then start the ‘nagging’ pop-up to dial-up or work offline.