Building a more stable weather computer.

I originally posted this on the VWS forum, but thought someone here might derive some benefit from it. And, besides running VWS, this computer now has Weather Display running on it so I can learn about it while keeping SLOweather running with VWS.

Disclaimer

I know that the following is not for every one, and that likely no one will exactly duplicate my current setup. Some of you run VWS on old iron. Some run it on your everyday computer. This is my personal experience with VWS and finding a stable solution. It’s submitted in the hope that some of my fellow forum members might find something of value from my experiences.

Background

I’ve been running VWS for over 6 years (the earliest archive The Wayback Machine has of my VWS-based weather page is August 17, 2000). I’ve run VWS on Windows 98, 2000 Pro, XP Home, XP Media Center, and, now, XP Pro. This current installation is by far the most stable, even though I’m running more concurrent apps on the computer than ever before. With Win 98, I was lucky to get 4 days to a week without a reboot. With this XP Pro build, I generally reboot the computer for some other reason, like a software installation or update, before it needs a reboot itself.

The Computer

I custom built this machine around a Gigabyte motherboard, 3 GHz P4 processor, 1 GB of RAM, a 120 MB IDE drive, and a 450 watt power supply. The case is from the Gateway XP Media Center PC (those guts went into a PC Theater case for the entertainment center).

The XP Pro license was from a dead computer at work. After building the computer and installing the OS, I applied all of the Windows service packs and updates, except IE7.

The motherboard was selected because it had 3 PCI slots, and 6 USB ports. However, it only has one on-board serial port, and a second serial port header.