Advice for starting out with a weather station?

All,

New to this site. In fact, just spent 10 minutes trying to figure out how to post in “WD FAQs” until realizing that I couldn’t.

I am hoping to get some “lessons learned” information from folks.

I want to set up a weather station that has the following trimmings (hey, it’s Thanksgiving):

• internet access to the information
  • Typical info (i.e. wind/temp/rain/etc.)
  • web cam
  • animated doppler radar (I assume gathered from an external source)
  • detailed forcast (I assume gathered from an external source)

So, I am at ground-0. I have a lot of experience in both linux and windows; is either OS preferred?

Can WD do the above things?

I have absolutely no experience with weather equipment; are there any preferred products for compatibility with linux/XP, or for reliability?

Hoping someone can point me in the general direction that I need to go in… Looking forward to tinkering to set this all up, but I figured some advice from experienced people would help guide me.

Thanks!
sgl

I was just about the same place as you are about 2 months ago. I purchased the “Entry Level” Davis Equipment and have been very happy with it! “read up” online on your hardware choices, I’d highly recommend Davis equipment if you can afford it. Seems like less people complain about Davis than the others! I got into the weather game to relate it better to my fishing!

I am running the Windows version of WD & it is super! Seems like Brian updates the Windows version more often than Linux, at least in my short time here. I love my Linux for servers, but run Windows on the home systems. I dedicated a older P4 to the task of “weather Station”. This has allowed me to get steady data collection.