cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Error Reading A/D result  (Read 4948 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline JeffCharger

  • Posts: 314
  • Ontario, Canada
Error Reading A/D result
« on: April 05, 2003, 12:28:58 PM »
I am periodically getting an error with my 1-wire results.  The error causes my temps to flatline.  The error reads "Error Reading A/D Result (-12)!".  I assume that the A/D refers to the analog/digital conversion being done by the DS9097 unit.  A restart of WD seems to cure.

Any clue what is happening?
weather display, HomeSeer, AAG V3, LaCrosse Rain Gauge

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
    • Weather Display
Error Reading A/D result
« Reply #1 on: April 07, 2003, 09:20:09 AM »
the A/d is also used for wind direction and humidity as well
it should recover , but is it not?
sounds like yoru 1 wire setup need improving if you are getting these errors (check connections, use CAT 5 cable as much as possible, etc)

Offline JeffCharger

  • Posts: 314
  • Ontario, Canada
my wind and direction were fine
« Reply #2 on: April 07, 2003, 09:53:27 AM »
Windy, my wind and direction were fine.  I received the error message twice (viewing in the 1-W setup).  They didn't seem to recover but a restart of the program found them fine.  Why would it be ok for wind and direction and not for temp?
weather display, HomeSeer, AAG V3, LaCrosse Rain Gauge

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
    • Weather Display
Error Reading A/D result
« Reply #3 on: April 07, 2003, 09:56:17 AM »
do you have any humidity sensors, barometer sensors, solar sensors?
they are all the A/D type of sensor.....]
bed time here

Offline JeffCharger

  • Posts: 314
  • Ontario, Canada
no humidity sensors yet
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2003, 10:02:46 AM »
I don't have humidity or barometric as yet.....only an AAG station and a number of  temp sensors.
weather display, HomeSeer, AAG V3, LaCrosse Rain Gauge

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
    • Weather Display
Error Reading A/D result
« Reply #5 on: April 07, 2003, 10:15:54 AM »
a vers 3 aag station uses a a/d converter for wind direction.....

Offline JeffCharger

  • Posts: 314
  • Ontario, Canada
so why would some work
« Reply #6 on: April 07, 2003, 10:31:01 AM »
and not others?
weather display, HomeSeer, AAG V3, LaCrosse Rain Gauge

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
    • Weather Display
Error Reading A/D result
« Reply #7 on: April 07, 2003, 04:59:36 PM »
no, the vers 1 does not...
so its the wind direction a/d converter that will be throwing up the error.....which might be due to low voltage on the 1 wire network

Offline Leo

  • Posts: 357
  • Wellington,NZ.
    • http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/lfduflou/Silverstreamweather.htm
Error Reading A/D result
« Reply #8 on: April 07, 2003, 08:59:03 PM »
I get a similar error if I have more than 3 temp sensors,solar,lightning
on the same port adapter.
Also happens if I have a long run using ordinary telephone cable instead of using cat 5 cable.
Never able to pinpoint the reason but I suspect that voltage drop was the cause.
 8O  :o
http://homepages.paradise.net.nz/lfduflou/Silverstreamweather.htm
XP ProSP2 AMD XP2600+ 1GB ram IE7 Beta3 Cable Modem Z/A Pro
http://www.kiwiweather.co.nz/whitbyweather/
XP ProSP2 AMD XP3200+ 1GB ram IE7 Beta3  DSL Z/A Pro

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,438
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
    • Weather Display
Error Reading A/D result
« Reply #9 on: April 07, 2003, 09:08:43 PM »
the solar sensor is a  1 wire A/D  :)
the A/D is most sensitive to not enough voltage on the 1 wire network