cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...  (Read 4670 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kpb

  • Posts: 64
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #15 on: February 13, 2003, 02:47:46 AM »
Brian,
   I have tried shutting down weather display, and that works some times.  Also tried rebooting the PC, and that works sometimes, but not always.  Often, I get annoyed that it is not working so I just shut down weather display.  Then later restart it.  On restart, sometimes it is back to normal right away, sometimes not.  No repeatable pattern that I have been able to determine in terms of when it starts to fail, and what happened that causes it to start working again.
P4-2.6G, 1GB, WinXP-pro, WS2010-12 on serial port 1.  Webpage: www.frii.com/~kpb/myweather.htm

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,020
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
    • Weather Display
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #16 on: February 13, 2003, 03:33:29 AM »
the other is to try werner krens software pc_weather station and see if it has trouble when wd is having trouble

Offline r.furborough

  • Posts: 425
  • Norfolk, VA
    • Environmental Conditions for Lynnhaven, VA
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #17 on: February 13, 2003, 01:08:56 PM »
Here's what LaCrosse say:

Q3) Why does my outdoor temperature (or other reading) display just "--.-"?
A3) The quick answer: remove the batteries from the base station for one minute. Reinstall and do not press any buttons for at least three minutes.
A3) The long answer: The remote sensors will assign a security code when it is powered up (i.e. when batteries are changed). Once the batteries are placed into the base station, it will lock onto this code and not read any other sensors (unless your station can read multiple sensors and they are set up at the same time).

Bob
Stand-By I am setting up a complete new system....

Offline r.furborough

  • Posts: 425
  • Norfolk, VA
    • Environmental Conditions for Lynnhaven, VA
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #18 on: February 13, 2003, 01:44:12 PM »
Interestingly, this morning the status of the outdoor temp sensor shows an error, but there is a valid temperature shown after the data download.  This temp reading is exactly the same as that shown on the console. However, there is no graph output, just a straight line. ( I have noticed this before).

I have confirmed this with Werners software. PC-Weatherstation, which interestingly shows the status of the sensors not as absolutes, but as a factor ranging from 0 to OK (OK=100).  It is also possible to select a specific sensor and display the 'plausible value' and the actual 'read value'.

Is it possible that if the 'plausibility value' of the data received by WD is not over a certain value (not displayed), then the sensor is reported with an 'error status', but can actually read data but not display it graphically?

Bob
Stand-By I am setting up a complete new system....

Offline r.furborough

  • Posts: 425
  • Norfolk, VA
    • Environmental Conditions for Lynnhaven, VA
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #19 on: February 13, 2003, 04:57:54 PM »
There is a new new group on the Weather Matrix site specifically for LaCrosse WS2010 owners.  This is really new! no postings yet, but it may gain popularity and be a good source of information in time.

http://www.weatherwatchers.org/bbs/ws-2010board/

Bob
Stand-By I am setting up a complete new system....

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 87,020
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
    • Weather Display
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #20 on: February 13, 2003, 05:24:19 PM »
i dont know where werner gets the plausibility value from, LOL
he is the real expert on these stations.
i dont think i ignore the value if a sensor error either...
but i will review once again

johntrot

  • Guest
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #21 on: February 16, 2003, 08:12:28 PM »
I Have the same 2010 as you and have experienced the same problems that you have... through the advice of this forum I placed my pc interface as far from my computer (reduce interference) as possible, and for the first time in over a year I have clear data and great reception. I have not had a single day of lost data since Nov. 2002. Prior to that date I never had a complete week (7 days) of good data.

I originally felt it was software related, but have since found numerous hardware problems with the two LaCrosse products I own (2010, and 2310).

I will continue to use a wireless station, but am looking for a new one to rely on. The LaCrosse barameter, humidity, and exterior temp sensors need work...  their pc interface has such a short serial wire that you can't get it far enough away to do you any good, and the antanne is a joke.

From the looks of the replies above, some owners don't seem to have a problem, and this is what drove me nuts the past year when I asked for help... the hardware apparently works for some and not for others. I don't have a problem with the company (they have replaced all of my faulty sensors), just the equipment. I want something I can depend on.

Offline Jon Paul

  • Posts: 166
  • Marsing, Idaho, USA
    • http://www.frontiernet.net/~w7veo/KIDMARSI1.html
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #22 on: February 16, 2003, 08:50:43 PM »
John,
I don't know if this will help you but it sure did me...I had nothing but trouble with my 2310 the first week or so(back in November) station kept losing sensors, blanking out, wind quit etc.....but I did two things that so far have seemed to cure all my hardware ills.  I went to the hardware and bought a telephone cable extension (for the serial cable its 25' long) and put my station where I wanted it, away from my PC and then I bored a hole through the wall and went hardwire.....since then as far as I can tell(comparing my data to a nearby prof station and some mechanical displays I have) no hardware problems.  Before that  almost everytime I rebooted and at various times during the day I would lose signal, I live on the outskirts of a small town but wonder if part of my interference was from radio or electronic signals.
Jon
What's your weather like today?
http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/wxpage.cgi?CW0882
http://www.frontiernet.net/~w7veo/KIDMARSI1.html   latest version WD

 WinXP/AMD Athlon 2.08G/512MB/Dial-up 56K
LaCrosse WS2310/one wire solar/lightning// W7VEO

Offline beruberu

  • Posts: 189
  • Geneva - Switzrland GMT+2
    • http://astrosurf.com/skylover/
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #23 on: February 16, 2003, 09:04:35 PM »
Hello,

How long serial cable can be to be used with the HF pc interface??

thanks

 :roll:
Best Greetings from Geneva Switzerland
http://astrosurf.com/skylover/
http://astrosurf.com/skylover/meteo

Wheather station WS-2210 with the latest version of WD.   Win XP

Offline Jon Paul

  • Posts: 166
  • Marsing, Idaho, USA
    • http://www.frontiernet.net/~w7veo/KIDMARSI1.html
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #24 on: February 16, 2003, 09:39:39 PM »
Beru,
I have 25' of cable added to the original serial cable that came with my 2310 (standard 4 wire telephone cable with molded ends available at your local harware store?) mine has male by female ends. I have noticed that most come with male to male ends (in which case you would have to use a coupler).  
Jon
What's your weather like today?
http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/wxpage.cgi?CW0882
http://www.frontiernet.net/~w7veo/KIDMARSI1.html   latest version WD

 WinXP/AMD Athlon 2.08G/512MB/Dial-up 56K
LaCrosse WS2310/one wire solar/lightning// W7VEO

johntrot

  • Guest
Lacrosse WS2010 users please comment...
« Reply #25 on: February 18, 2003, 04:40:24 PM »
Appreciate the info on the 2310, but I found it did not work with any of the situations Iwant or need. There are just too many problems with placement of the central unit and the location of the sensors for proper readings when used as a wireless unit (that is the only unit that will work for me).