Program crashes 2-3 times/day?

Hello, I’m a newbie and am just trying out the WD software. I am having a lot of trouble with crashes, where the program just locks up. When this happens, I can’t even do a ctrl-alt-del to kill the program. It is happening at least twice a day.

I am running version 10.33 it with LaCrosse 3610 and HeavyWeather. Currently it is on an older PC with Win-98. It seems to work for a few hours then crashes. I can’t seem to tell anything unusual from the log files.

Will more PC horsepower stop it from crashing?
Will an upgrade to the later (10.33e?) version fix this?
Is there some settings I should have set differently?

(I’m not a programmer and am stumbling my way through this.)

UPDATE (3/16/06): WD is running fine now, but weather station hardware is being upgraded.

Win98 isn’t the most stable OS to begain with :wink: If this is an old computer that has been used in the past I would suggest that you format the hard drive and reinstall Win98. With use, Win98 can become really unstable and a new install can really help it out.

Thanks. I needed a separate machine to leave running 24x7 with only the weather stuff running. I realized Win-98 wasn’t the most stable, but it was better than ME :wink:

So I started with a formatted HDD and clean install of Win-98 sp2 and followed that with a Windows Update to get all the latest patches. I then removed a bunch of the extra Wndows baggage and ended up with a very clean system. It’s not running any screen savers or power mode savings.

I’ve got a new machine on the way, but didn’t feel too confident that would solve the problem. If nothing else it should run a bit faster and give me some more space.

Hi
the 3600 stations communication is very heavy on the CPU
and so that wont help on a slower older PC running win98
A higher end PC should help alot I would say :slight_smile:
Brian