cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: VP2 Upgrade Adventure  (Read 20313 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline gdumbleton

  • Posts: 156
  • Brantford, ON., Canada
    • Brantford Weather (Canada)
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #15 on: December 15, 2005, 11:20:10 PM »
I just went through this with mine. I had a weather monitor II that was zapped with a serge from the computer and bought the VP2.

I did as you have done and put them in the same room for a long time. I would say that they should read the same if they are in the same room for a reasonable length of time. There is a way of adjusting that. If you look in your manual to see the procedure. The only thing that is the unknown is which temperature is the correct one so that you can adjust the right one.

I got another thermometer to put in the same place and decided which one was correct. Unless you have a hygrometer, it is a tossup about the humidity. I adjusted mine assuming that the indoor one was correct and may need to refine that based on humidity readings in my area.

This was my experience and method for doing this.

Gary
Cheers,

Gary W Dumbleton

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,126
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #16 on: December 16, 2005, 12:16:45 AM »
also i dont think the specs on the indoor temperature as as accurate as the outdoor temperature...so differences will occur...
I think this may have been true before but acc to the vp2 manual on the website they are both +/- 0.5 deg C. I'm not surprised by the discrepancy Chris is seeing though, there are so many possibilities for air currents or other effects acting differently on the two sensors. If it was all wrapped in a thermal insulating blanket for a while then I would expect them to the same within the limits of the spec.

Offline zanman

  • Neil
  • Posts: 126
  • A bad day fishing beats a good day working!
  • Pongakawa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
    • Zanadu Weather
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #17 on: December 16, 2005, 12:49:21 AM »
I have my VP2 set up on the roof using a TV aerial stand - the bottom of the unit is a touch over 2 metres higher then the peak of the roof.
When I set it up, I had three different weather stations all located in a close proximity with all of them showing very similar data so didn't need to tweek anything.
Old Chinese Proverb - "Man with one watch always know time, man with two watch never know time"

Temperature radiation from the roof was my biggest concern on installing there, but I also had issues with location in the garden area - too many trees and shrubs - so up there it went. Temperatuers readings seem to closely mirror other data in the general area, so I am quite happy with the readings I get . In New Zealand of course it is unusual to have no wind at all to flow over the sensors so roof radiation is not usually an issue. Obviously, up there grass temperatures get missed.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,126
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #18 on: December 16, 2005, 01:10:40 AM »
Is that a "hot tin roof" ?

Offline zanman

  • Neil
  • Posts: 126
  • A bad day fishing beats a good day working!
  • Pongakawa, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
    • Zanadu Weather
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #19 on: December 16, 2005, 02:55:25 AM »

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,126
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #20 on: December 16, 2005, 03:10:21 AM »
 :lol:

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,882
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #21 on: December 16, 2005, 07:32:34 AM »
The temp differences have settled down overnight which seems odd. Temps are now 16/17 (out/in) and humidity readings are now 61/57 (out/in).

They're close enough now (bearing in mind the +/- 0.5deg accuracy).
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,882
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #22 on: December 17, 2005, 09:36:06 AM »
Some pictures (now that it's light enough!)

Looking West, this puts the current sensor positions in context...

A) Anemometer
B) 2m/70cm vertical antenna
C) Rain Gauge
D) G5RV wire antenna

Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,882
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #23 on: December 17, 2005, 09:38:42 AM »
Looking North-East (two pics...one from inside which has some reflection from the glass)...

Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,882
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #24 on: December 17, 2005, 09:40:43 AM »
Looking South-East (difficult shot with the sun this morning)...

Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,882
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #25 on: December 17, 2005, 09:43:18 AM »
Looking North-West...
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,882
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #26 on: December 17, 2005, 09:47:07 AM »
Looking South-West (rain gauge can just be seen on this)...
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,882
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #27 on: December 17, 2005, 09:53:30 AM »
Last one. Looking West showing the rain gauge position better. The flat roof is about 12ft wide (East-West) and the gauge is probably about 12ft South from side wall of the house.
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,882
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #28 on: December 17, 2005, 11:16:02 AM »
Having thought about this some more, I think if I ever want to add solar and/or UV sensors then I'll have to mount it somewhere near the current rain gauge. Anywhere else won't see enough of the sun. I assume it's not possible to mount these sensors away from the ISS? That's a little odd in a way, because they really need to be up above the roof, yet this isn't really the ideal place to site a rain gauge or the T/H sensor.
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline Foggy

  • Posts: 285
  • Foggy Hamilton, NZ
    • Hamilton NZ Weather
Re: VP2 Upgrade Adventure
« Reply #29 on: December 17, 2005, 11:50:18 AM »
I think if I ever want to add solar and/or UV sensors then I'll have to mount it somewhere near the current rain gauge. Anywhere else won't see enough of the sun. I assume it's not possible to mount these sensors away from the ISS? That's a little odd in a way, because they really need to be up above the roof, yet this isn't really the ideal place to site a rain gauge or the T/H sensor.

Yes it is possible.. but since the power output of the UV/solar sensors is very low they will transmit lower readings. I am very weary about sending my solar sensor up there.. would a solution  be to just increase the Wm offset% through weather display?

In New Zealand of course it is unusual to have no wind at all to flow over the sensors so roof radiation is not usually an issue.

It's a big issue here, as for places in basins.. like Kawerau, Alexandra, reefton etc.. That was a reason I didn't send it up there on the pole above the roof.. the variance would be far too much.