cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Configuring MML in WDL  (Read 9548 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,943
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #15 on: December 01, 2005, 11:15:44 PM »
I've fixed the problem now, so everyone will now see only those stations that their version of the software allows them to see.

You're doing better than you think! I removed 4 of your 15 stations that were still CWOP stations you wouldn't be able to display, so you now only have 11 stations selected. So you're seeing data for 10 out of the 11.

Maps...depends what you want to display. Remember that you really need a Mercator projection map for MML, although for relatively small areas of the world between 50 deg N/S you might get away with a square projection.
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline dcsmith

  • Posts: 24
    • Hurricane Ivan/Dennis Country
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #16 on: December 01, 2005, 11:37:26 PM »
The question is where can I get maps that are bounded by lat. & lon.?  The ones I have see so far are really basic.

What's with the descrepancy in the map size?  the docummentation says 350 x 350 yet a 500 x 500 map was generated for me by Weather-Watch.

Dave

Offline Softvark

  • Posts: 4,281
  • UK
    • The weather in Colchester
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #17 on: December 02, 2005, 12:20:34 AM »
Quote
What's with the descrepancy in the map size?


The MML site will generate 500 x 500 but you can use the same map for MML lite as it will be automatically resized within the software. The aspect ratio is the same so there will be no distortion, the only downside is that the file size may be slightly larger than necessary.

Julian

Offline JaxWeather

  • Bob
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 12,020
  • VP 2 w/FARS - WML Station: WD00007
  • Jacksonville, Fl. USA
    • JaxWeather.net
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #18 on: December 02, 2005, 12:24:00 AM »
Dave I made my early maps here:

http://www.aquarius.geomar.de/make_map.html

I just started with basic lats and longs and then got the area I wanted, then worked on suaring them up...  Takes a bit of time but you can end up with a pretty decent map...

The other option would be the closest radar image to you...

If you want to try radar PM me and I will work with you see what we can put together...

-Bob

Offline dcsmith

  • Posts: 24
    • Hurricane Ivan/Dennis Country
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #19 on: December 02, 2005, 12:26:05 AM »
OK on the sizing.  What's the end size so I can present that size?

Offline JaxWeather

  • Bob
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 12,020
  • VP 2 w/FARS - WML Station: WD00007
  • Jacksonville, Fl. USA
    • JaxWeather.net
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #20 on: December 02, 2005, 12:45:13 AM »
If you are creating your own map you want it to be as close to 350 X 350 (for MML Lite) as possible...  I have some tools that let me mausure the actual px size of an image so i can tweak it, adding or removing a lil here and there LOL

-Bob

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,943
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #21 on: December 02, 2005, 07:33:50 AM »
Just to confirm...

MML Lite wants 350*350
Standalone MML wants 500*500

The maps are all resized to 500*500 after they're plotted (sometimes from a gigabyte or two of PostScript!), so I could create a 350*350 version fairly easily in addition to the 500*500 version. I'll add that to the wish-list.
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,943
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #22 on: December 02, 2005, 11:14:32 PM »
No sooner wished than done....well OK it did take 24 hours! The map generator will now create maps in both 350*350 (for MML Lite) and 500*500 (for standalone MML) pixel sizes.
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline dcsmith

  • Posts: 24
    • Hurricane Ivan/Dennis Country
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #23 on: December 03, 2005, 06:59:47 PM »
Chris,

I paid my $15.00 (well worth it).  I have a 500 x 500 map on WDL-MML.  I can resize it with PhotoShop or regenerate it with your process.

I take it barometric pressure is not available on the WDL-MML version?

It's looking more and more like I may need the full MML version to provide the functionality I want.

Can the button on WDL point to the full MML vs. the lite version?

Dave

Offline JaxWeather

  • Bob
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 12,020
  • VP 2 w/FARS - WML Station: WD00007
  • Jacksonville, Fl. USA
    • JaxWeather.net
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #24 on: December 03, 2005, 07:44:03 PM »
Dave,

The WDL button for MML will only (at this point, there is another thread about this) open MML Lite BUT if you have MML Full you can add a button in MML Lite that opens MMl full from there...

Clear as mud i am sure...

Go to my WDL page:
http://JaxWeather.net/flash/

Click the MesoMap button and you will see a second button in MMl Lite that if you press will take you to MML Full...

-Bob

Offline dcsmith

  • Posts: 24
    • Hurricane Ivan/Dennis Country
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #25 on: December 03, 2005, 11:13:57 PM »
Bob,

I think I saw that thread after I asked the question  :oops:

Your solution looks workable.  How did you add the button in MML Lite to take you to MML Full?

I made some adjustments in my map size to include sites in Mississippi & Panama City.  The map looks funny as it's not square.  Do you have a formula for coming up with square coordinates?

Dave

Offline JaxWeather

  • Bob
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 12,020
  • VP 2 w/FARS - WML Station: WD00007
  • Jacksonville, Fl. USA
    • JaxWeather.net
Re: Configuring MML in WDL
« Reply #26 on: December 03, 2005, 11:46:14 PM »
This post addresses adding the Button within MML Lite that leads to your MML Full page...

http://www.weather-watch.com/smf/index.php/topic,11993.msg96367.html#msg96367

Hmmmm why do i have a craving for M&Ms all of a sudden... ;)

-Bob