cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Experiencing sway with my antenna mast  (Read 7844 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Experiencing sway with my antenna mast
« Reply #15 on: October 11, 2005, 01:11:08 AM »
Thanks Niko and Bob.

The joint between the two masts is put as tight together as possible, but it's still not secure.  If you shake the 10 ft. mast (about halfway down - or up - the mast), then the 5 ft. mast shakes.  Maybe there isn't enough support from the fence (ie, the mast is too 15 ft. high, but only has 4 ft. of support from the fence)?

Also, as I shake the 10 ft. mast, the fence also moves slightly, but enough to notice it.

Thanks.

--Tim

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 28,171
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
Re: Experiencing sway with my antenna mast
« Reply #16 on: October 11, 2005, 01:49:40 AM »
Those RS masts are pretty hard material, so I don't think pipe clips will squeeze them enough to clamp. So the two options I would try are to shim the joint, means pull it apart and put a thin strip of metal in to make the joint tight, or drill a small hole and screw a sheet metal screw to tie the two poles together. Remember that any movement in the fence post will be greatly exaggerated if you are looking at the top of the mast. Yes, I do think the support (fence) is too short for a 15ft pole, can you use just the 10ft one, or is that just too low?

Offline cirrus

  • Posts: 1,097
  • Davis VP2 Plus
  • The Dalles, OR USA
    • Mid Columbia Weather
Re: Experiencing sway with my antenna mast
« Reply #17 on: October 11, 2005, 05:46:38 AM »
It sounds to me like your only option is to use guy-wires....15 feet is quite a span without them!

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Experiencing sway with my antenna mast
« Reply #18 on: October 11, 2005, 11:12:27 PM »
I would love to use the 10 ft. pole, which would be much make the anemometer and its solar transmitter much easier to access and much more stable, but as you mentioned, that would be way to short.

Most of the surrounding trees (less than 25 feet away) are atleast 10 feet, most of them actually being atleast 15 feet tall.

Kevin, guy wires would not be allowed by the neighborhood association, but that would be great if I could use them.

Thanks for everyone's help.

--Tim

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,883
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: Experiencing sway with my antenna mast
« Reply #19 on: October 12, 2005, 11:19:10 AM »
What about hidden guy wires? Would you get away with some very fine nylon line (as used by anglers). If anyone comments say something about not wanting to meet the spider who spun that web :wink: You probably don't need a lot of extra support to stop the swaying so line with a fairly low breaking strain will probably work.
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline Qwarla

  • Peter
  • Posts: 489
  • Townsville, Australia
    • Qwarla Weather
Re: Experiencing sway with my antenna mast
« Reply #20 on: October 12, 2005, 12:02:55 PM »
From reading through this thread it appears to me that the problem is entirely to do with the fence post.  It is just not a firm enough mount to start with.  Guy wires would need to go perpendicular to the fence line and that would intrude into the neighbour's yard.  They won't like that!
What is really needed is to move your mount off that flimsy fence.  Is it possible to move the maast against the house and stay from the roof level.  That is how mine is setup.  I have about 20 feet of inch and a quarter water pipe from the ground.  It is braced at the top of the block wall, about 8 feet above ground.  That was fine at first as it only help my TV antenna.  But after adding the Vantage Pro Plus I noticed it moved around in the breeze just a bit more then I thought it should.  Two short stays off the roof soon fixed that and it as very stable now. 
Another option is to install an outdoor TV antenna and mount the anometer just above the antenna.  Tell them it is a new fandangle antenna with this gismo for keeping birds off the antenna :lol:

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Experiencing sway with my antenna mast
« Reply #21 on: October 12, 2005, 07:56:08 PM »
Chris, I don't think I would even have enough room in my backyard, anyhow.  We just got a deck built, which takes up about half of the yard, so there isn't much room left at all.

Qwarla, I doubt the association will even allow that.  :( :roll:

Now, the woman that lives across the street (head of the neighborhood association) is thinking about moving to Florida sometime soon, so I am praying for that.   [-o< :wink: :lol:

Thanks.

--Tim

Offline JaxWeather

  • Bob
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 12,020
  • VP 2 w/FARS - WML Station: WD00007
  • Jacksonville, Fl. USA
    • JaxWeather.net
Re: Experiencing sway with my antenna mast
« Reply #22 on: October 12, 2005, 08:03:02 PM »

Now, the woman that lives across the street (head of the neighborhood association) is thinking about moving to Florida sometime soon, so I am praying for that.   [-o< :wink: :lol:

Ohhh how nice send the mean lady my way HUH :P

I bet Tim when he looks to buy his first house will ask one question first...

Is this part of a Neighborhood Association?  If yes then the answer is NO  LOL

-Bob

Offline aifan27

  • Tim
  • Posts: 2,862
  • Pennsylvania
    • Newtown Weather
Re: Experiencing sway with my antenna mast
« Reply #23 on: October 12, 2005, 10:52:20 PM »
Quote
Ohhh how nice send the mean lady my way HUH :P

Oh yeah, by the way, I saw her the other day and she said that she was thinking about moving in Jacksonville next to Bob.  :lol: :wink:  (By the way, she really is a nice person.  8))

Quote
I bet Tim when he looks to buy his first house will ask one question first...

Is this part of a Neighborhood Association?  If yes then the answer is NO  LOL

Oh boy, is that true or what!  :D

--Tim

 

cumulus