cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.  (Read 315 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline G.O.B.B

  • Dayboro Weather.
  • Posts: 509
  • Tomorrow I tell you today's weather.
  • Dayboro
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Dayboro Weather Station
PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« on: November 02, 2017, 01:02:51 AM »
Hello,

Just got my new gadget Pupleair.
Going into  extra/misc/customer screen settings.

Enter the Mac as Sensor Id (as that is what is showing up in the json file)
Enter the Local IP address.

Then I get this error.
151: HTTP protocol error.500 Internal Server Error.  (See screen Dump)

The PurpleAir seems to be uploading to the purplair site so i assume all systems go.

any idea why I get this http protocol error?

Thanks
Henk
« Last Edit: November 02, 2017, 05:23:14 AM by G.O.B.B »

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,768
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.75
Re: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« Reply #1 on: November 02, 2017, 02:03:27 AM »
From the original thread, try this:

Success! The 1.0 and 10.0 values now work when I enter the IP as http://192.168.1.165/json. (I did have to add http:// along with /json on the end.)

Now if you could make the AQI value retain its position on the main screen, I will be happy and won't bug you anymore about this!

-Dave


Offline G.O.B.B

  • Dayboro Weather.
  • Posts: 509
  • Tomorrow I tell you today's weather.
  • Dayboro
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 56.0
    • Dayboro Weather Station
Re: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« Reply #2 on: November 02, 2017, 03:04:55 AM »
Thanks Niko.

I am pretty sure have tried that, tried again to make sure.

Still no joy.
« Last Edit: November 02, 2017, 05:22:53 AM by G.O.B.B »

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,247
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« Reply #3 on: November 02, 2017, 03:11:38 AM »
see if you can find its local IP
see this thread
http://www.weather-watch.com/smf/index.php/topic,65512.75.html

and more info:
Brian, to access the main display (data display and WiFi settings display) of my local (as outside my home/office) PurpleAir sensor through my browser I use the following link: 'http://192.168.200.145/' - to access and view the JSON data produce by the PurpleAir sensor through my browser, I use the following link: 'http://192.168.200.145/json'.

This is what the JSON data file looks like:
Code: [Select]
{"SensorId":"xx:xx:xx:xx:xx:xx","DateTime":"2017/08/16T01:05:28z","Geo":"AirMonitor_30f7","Mem":28656,"Id":7394,"Adc":0.00,"lat":48.796833,"lon":-123.632027,"elevation":123.85,"version":"2.49j","uptime":295475,"rssi":-67,"hardwareversion":"2.0","hardwarediscovered":"2.0+PMSX003A+PMSX003B+BME280","current_temp_f":82,"current_humidity":34,"current_dewpoint_f":50.87,"pressure":996.99,"pm1_0_atm_b":5.32,"pm2_5_atm_b":7.18,"pm10_0_atm_b":7.80,"pm1_0_cf_1_b":5.32,"pm2_5_cf_1_b":7.18,"pm10_0_cf_1_b":7.80,"p_0_3_um_b":1102.43,"p_0_5_um_b":308.52,"p_1_0_um_b":36.17,"p_2_5_um_b":2.45,"p_5_0_um_b":0.35,"p_10_0_um_b":0.35,"pm1_0_atm":5.71,"pm2_5_atm":8.20,"pm10_0_atm":8.29,"pm1_0_cf_1":5.71,"pm2_5_cf_1":8.20,"pm10_0_cf_1":8.29,"p_0_3_um":1528.39,"p_0_5_um":334.85,"p_1_0_um":36.63,"p_2_5_um":3.39,"p_5_0_um":0.34,"p_10_0_um":0.23}

The 'SensorId' tag (where you see a bunch of 'x') is in fact the (inique) MAC address of the sensor.

Should you want to have the JSON data file, please let me know..

Offline G.O.B.B

  • Dayboro Weather.
  • Posts: 509
  • Tomorrow I tell you today's weather.
  • Dayboro
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 56.0
    • Dayboro Weather Station
Re: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« Reply #4 on: November 02, 2017, 03:37:40 AM »
Brian,

Thanks for your reply,
If you see the screen shots in the first post, you will find that I already tried that. Unless I do something really wrong (which is very possible).

H

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,247
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« Reply #5 on: November 02, 2017, 04:00:50 AM »
try ticking, use local IP

Offline G.O.B.B

  • Dayboro Weather.
  • Posts: 509
  • Tomorrow I tell you today's weather.
  • Dayboro
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 56.0
    • Dayboro Weather Station
Re: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« Reply #6 on: November 02, 2017, 05:24:55 AM »
Ok I set in the setting screen the following:

Sensor ID I left blank.
Local ip i entered http://<ipaddrss>/json
I ticked Use Local Data

When I click test, I do not get the error. Fingers crossed.

H

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,247
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« Reply #7 on: November 02, 2017, 05:34:09 AM »
what was the Mac address that you were using?
as I want to test that here (as that tries to get the data from the purpleair web site ( you would need to use the Mac address that the purpleair web data has for your sensor)

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,247
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« Reply #8 on: November 02, 2017, 05:45:44 AM »
actually the sensor ID is not a Mac Address
but instead a number (e.g 1256)
I think that ID number is on the actual sensor?

Offline Harry

  • Posts: 597
  • Union City, CA USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Union City, CA Weather
Re: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« Reply #9 on: November 02, 2017, 10:13:07 AM »
actually the sensor ID is not a Mac Address
but instead a number (e.g 1256)
I think that ID number is on the actual sensor?

Brian, the ID is assigned when you register.  From page 7 of the original thread:

Quote
The sensor ID number is only assigned once a PurpleAir unit has been registered (through the PurpleAir site) and data has started uploading to the Thingspeak cloud storage.

You have to look for your ID in this big file, search for your location, lat, longitude or whatever. https://map.purpleair.org/json

The entry will look something like this {"ID":2883,"ParentID": (this is my ID 2883).
« Last Edit: November 02, 2017, 10:24:46 AM by Harry »

Offline R_o_B

  • Posts: 167
  • Maple Bay, British Columbia, Canada
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Tzouhalem-Maple Bay Weather
Re: PurpleAir Setup http protocol error.
« Reply #10 on: November 02, 2017, 12:37:46 PM »
Indeed Henk and Brian, the sensor ID will not be available (or assigned) until the PurpleAir unit has connected to the Internet and has started sending its data to the Thingspeak cloud storage.

Henk, if you still cannot find the correct IP address that your router has assigned to your PurpleAir unit, may I recommend that you install the free NirSoft utility Wireless Network Watcher - in the 'Advanced Options' (the F9 key), set the program to scan the IP addresses that your network is using. You should see something about the 'PurpleAir-Sensor' with the IP address it has been assigned.
R_o_B
---
eMail: weather@tzweather.org