cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version  (Read 1778 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,303
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.89
    • Weather Display
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #60 on: November 13, 2017, 02:27:49 AM »
I will re test here...with the latest version.... it did work for me...ps, what weather station type?

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,303
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.89
    • Weather Display
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #61 on: November 14, 2017, 07:53:06 AM »
have tested here,latest version, and it works

Offline brianf7408

  • Posts: 33
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 11.1
  • Safari 11.0
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #62 on: November 14, 2017, 10:36:12 AM »
My station type is Arduino. What version of Ubuntu are you using?   Iím using 16.04 and This is a new install. The only thing installed on it is weather display and Chrome.  Also what browser are you using?  Could this be a permissions issue?  Iíve noticed many of the weather display folders are owned by root.  For example, the folder in documents is owned by root.  Is that true on your install?   

The weird thing about broadway is there is very little info available when googling. Either no one uses it or I am the only one that is having issues  :(   Iíll try switching station type just to see if it makes difference.
« Last Edit: November 14, 2017, 10:53:32 AM by brianf7408 »

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,303
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.89
    • Weather Display
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #63 on: November 14, 2017, 06:12:10 PM »
I am using Unbuntu 16.04
and I am using FireFox browser, which is built in, from the task bar up the side

Offline brianf7408

  • Posts: 33
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 54.0
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #64 on: November 15, 2017, 01:17:00 AM »
I set the station type to Stationless, tried it with firefox and still not working.  If we are indeed running the same versions of the software involved, and it appears we are, the only  other variable would be hardware so this may be a video driver issue - but that wouldnt explain why other apps work like the gtk3-demo.  It appears you may be running a virtual instance of Ubuntu?  Maybe that has some influence on this.  Im gonna give up for now.  Maybe I'll try virtualizing it in the next few weeks.

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,303
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.89
    • Weather Display
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #65 on: November 15, 2017, 01:28:42 AM »
yes, I am running linux in a virtual box on windows
but not sure why that should matter
it might instead of something to do with the GTK version installed?

Offline brianf7408

  • Posts: 33
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 11.1
  • Safari 11.0
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #66 on: November 15, 2017, 02:44:36 AM »
We have the same version based on your last screen shot.

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,303
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.89
    • Weather Display
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #67 on: November 15, 2017, 06:30:54 PM »
one thing, are you using the latest WD linux version?
try updating that

Offline brianf7408

  • Posts: 33
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 57.0
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #68 on: November 16, 2017, 02:58:16 AM »
Updated to the latest version.  Still not working.  However the error message is different now.  i was getting an Access Violation before, now i get a 'Segmentation fault (core dumped)'.

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,303
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.89
    • Weather Display
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #69 on: November 16, 2017, 03:38:04 AM »
those are similar errors (memory error)
you could try as a test:
back up then delete the WD settings files (when WD is not running)
i.e WDISPLAY.INI and wdisplayftp.ini
from
/Documents/wdisplay/

so that WD starts up with no settings

Offline brianf7408

  • Posts: 33
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Firefox 57.0
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #70 on: November 16, 2017, 11:31:10 AM »
No change.

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,303
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #71 on: November 16, 2017, 06:00:08 PM »
I do not see those errors
i wonder if its associated with screen resolution maybe?
since it references gdk width?

Offline GrantK

  • Posts: 130
  • Davis VP2+ with 24 Hr SPFARS
  • Bay of Islands, New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 57.0
    • Current weather conditions on our farm
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #72 on: November 17, 2017, 10:15:30 PM »
I've just got WD for Linux running this morning on a brand new Intel NUC with Ubuntu 16.04 LTS.  So far I haven't connected it to my Davis because that is reporting weather data to my Windows PC.  At this stage I want to be sure that WD for Linux is going to work to some degree before committing to it, and then hopefully get the Broadway remote access working (more on that in my next post).

WD seems to be running OK so far as I can tell at this early stage, but when exiting, I see this error message every time:

grant@INTEL-NUC7i3BNH:~/wdisplay$ sudo ./weatherdisplay
3.0 Mesa 17.0.7
Exception EAccessViolation in module weatherdisplay at 0000000000B249FE.
Access violation at address 0000000000B249FE, accessing address 0000000000000018.
Segmentation fault (core dumped)


This would seem to be a serious problem, so I'd like to know what to do about it before proceeding further.

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,303
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 62.0.3202.94
    • Weather Display
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #73 on: November 17, 2017, 10:20:48 PM »
you mean exit via save and exit?
are you running it as sudo? (needs to be so that it can save to the ini files)

Offline GrantK

  • Posts: 130
  • Davis VP2+ with 24 Hr SPFARS
  • Bay of Islands, New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 57.0
    • Current weather conditions on our farm
Re: new version of WD linux , similar to WD Mac version
« Reply #74 on: November 17, 2017, 10:23:45 PM »
No change.
I am getting very similar error messages to Brian, except I don't have a 'Segmentation Fault' at the end.  Complete error message window attached.

Also, when invoking the first Broadway command, I see the following:

grant@INTEL-NUC7i3BNH:~/wdisplay$ sudo GDK_BACKEND=broadway
usage: sudo -h | -K | -k | -V
usage: sudo -v [-AknS] [-g group] [-h host] [-p prompt] [-u user]
usage: sudo -l [-AknS] [-g group] [-h host] [-p prompt] [-U user] [-u user]
            [command]
usage: sudo [-AbEHknPS] [-r role] [-t type] [-C num] [-g group] [-h host] [-p
            prompt] [-u user] [VAR=value] [-i|-s] [<command>]
usage: sudo -e [-AknS] [-r role] [-t type] [-C num] [-g group] [-h host] [-p
            prompt] [-u user] file ...


It looks to me as though the command wasn't executed, however the next command works OK:

rant@INTEL-NUC7i3BNH:~/wdisplay$ sudo broadwayd :5
[sudo] password for grant:
Listening on /home/grant/.cache/broadway6.socket


Needless to say, attempting to open a browser window at http://127.0.0.1:8085/ (on my Windows PC) doesn't work.
Is that what I am supposed to do when attempting to view WD for Linux from a different device on my LAN?

It would be great to get this working.  Thanks Brian for any help you can offer.

 

cumulus