cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Indoor temp  (Read 426 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 228
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Indoor temp
« on: October 05, 2017, 09:18:19 PM »
Any other WD problems pale into insignificance: my wife has just asked if I've turned down the heating thermostats because the WD and Weather34 displays on her iPad show it to be cool indoors when it's not.

Indoor temp/hum is not something I check very often but, sure enough, it is not being picked up - it's been stuck for hours, even on the main WD screen. . . and before that it was stuck 0.2C higher for hours. Seems to have been going on for a couple of days.

What could have caused this?
« Last Edit: October 05, 2017, 09:19:52 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,909
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #1 on: October 05, 2017, 09:46:22 PM »
what shows in the separate running wmr200 program for the indoor temp raw data as that comes through

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 228
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Indoor temp - restored
« Reply #2 on: October 05, 2017, 10:05:44 PM »
Didn't check. I presume it showed it was stuck, the indoorlog did. . .

Anyway, I got it back by uninstalling the test .zip update you offered me for flat-lining on 28 September, the only thing I've changed recently.
It's meant to be fun. . .

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,909
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2017, 01:11:15 AM »
that would not be it I do not think
I would have instead just tried restarting the version you were running

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 228
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #4 on: October 06, 2017, 04:51:51 PM »
You're probably right. But, hey, it worked, and the wife was happy.

Seem to have been doing a lot of restarting lately. Flatline? - restart. No clientraw.txt? - restart. No indoor temp? - restart.

By rights, I shouldn't have to restart WD at all!
It's meant to be fun. . .

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,909
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #5 on: October 07, 2017, 08:28:16 AM »

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 228
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #6 on: October 07, 2017, 11:04:08 AM »
I did, thanks. WD started, read and decoded the history data and then stalled completely. Data gatherer working fine but nothing getting through to main screen at all - both DQ and DR "lights" stayed red. So I've gone back to the original S57 weatherdisplay.exe pro tem - I'm not using either of the offered test versions.

I have asked this before: why does "WMR200 History vers 1.3" always run twice at start-up before handing over to "WMR200 History Data" to decode?
It's meant to be fun. . .

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,909
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #7 on: October 07, 2017, 05:42:51 PM »
try another update
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/weatherdisplaytest.zip

re the 2 history windows, one is a separate exe program, that gets the raw data, the other one checks for that being finished and then processes that raw data

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 228
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #8 on: October 08, 2017, 10:32:03 AM »
OK, test update unzipped and WD started up OK today.

What is this test supposed to do? I'm asking because I'm also trying to pin down the clientraw problem - see separate post - and don't want to confuse things.

But I was highly tempted to download the test.zip you posted yesterday for the flat-lining problem!
It's meant to be fun. . .

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,909
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #9 on: October 08, 2017, 06:34:11 PM »
this should fix the indoor temperature and hopefully the flat line issue (WD should detect that and then restart the separate WMR200 data reader)
I will do a test here (by pulling the USB cable)

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 228
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #10 on: October 08, 2017, 07:01:40 PM »
OK, so it can't affect the separate clientraw.txt problem because client WD is running stationless.
It's meant to be fun. . .

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,909
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #11 on: October 08, 2017, 07:59:03 PM »
if the version of WD running connected to the WMR200 stops getting data from the WMR200 then it will stop logging data, which includes the clientraw.txt file

I have tested here pulling the WMR200 cable
WD detects that:
WMR100/200/300 USB no data
Doing checking of time zone calculation
Daylight saving in use
WMR100/200/300 USB no data
Exiting WMR100/200/300 program
Restarting WMR100/200/300 program
WMR100/200/300 USB no data stopped logging 8:53:59 AM

and stops logging data (which will also stop the clientraw file)
problem is, even after putting back in the usb cable, WD is not trying again to restart the WMR200 program
I will fix that.standby

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,909
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #12 on: October 08, 2017, 08:35:00 PM »
build 58 will keep on restarting the separate wmr200 data read program if no data detected now:
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/weatherdisplaytest.zip

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 228
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #13 on: October 08, 2017, 10:01:27 PM »
Thanks, Brian, I'll load that tomorrow. Will it help rick790 with his flat-lining too?

if the version of WD running connected to the WMR200 stops getting data from the WMR200 then it will stop logging data, which includes the clientraw.txt file

How about a version of WD running stationless?

« Last Edit: October 08, 2017, 10:07:43 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,909
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 61.0.3163.100
    • Weather Display
Re: Indoor temp
« Reply #14 on: October 08, 2017, 11:31:40 PM »
if that version is using the clientraw.txt that is stop updating, then it will stop getting data

 

cumulus