cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out  (Read 326 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 100
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 9.2.1
  • Safari 9.0
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« on: August 16, 2017, 12:17:04 AM »
Hopefully somebody can help me out. I've been uploading my screenshot on my website for some time with no issues. However,  recently the graph display is blacked out . After correcting the problem, it will  reoccur   Usually within a day or two.

Please visit www.bobsvp2wd.net

Thanks

Bob
« Last Edit: August 17, 2017, 11:58:12 PM by orion98665 »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,684
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2017, 04:34:06 AM »
any error under view, program event log. when it happens?

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 100
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 9.2.1
  • Safari 9.0
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #2 on: August 17, 2017, 03:05:08 AM »
any error under view, program event log. when it happens?


No event logs errors recorded.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,684
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #3 on: August 17, 2017, 03:16:40 AM »
what has changed?
(you say it was OK but now is not)

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 100
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Safari 10.1
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #4 on: August 17, 2017, 11:55:14 PM »
what has changed?
(you say it was OK but now is not)

Hi Brian, the screenshot issue has been problem for sometime. However, I would just correct the problem by resetting the image thru "Customise Internet and File Creation Setup." This fixed the problem, but the issue would reoccur at random on uploads maybe once every week or longer. I can live with this, but now its much more frequent. It seems I'm resetting the screenshot about everyday. So to answer your question on what has changed? I honestly don't have an answer. Perhaps, maybe it could be a conflict with my antivirus software.. I'm using Malwarebytes, which is set to automatically update. I'm not doing any other updates (including the operating system),
or loading any other programs on this computer. This computer only runs WD. Perhaps maybe a background program is conflicting with WD..??

I'll go ahead and reset the image right now just to see how long it lasts.

I'm running the latest version of WD
OS is windows Vista.

Thanks

Bob
 
« Last Edit: August 18, 2017, 12:00:05 AM by orion98665 »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,684
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #5 on: August 18, 2017, 01:17:04 AM »
Quote
I would just correct the problem by resetting the image thru "Customise Internet and File Creation Setup."
what is the exact steps you are doing to rectify the problem?

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,690
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.101
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #6 on: August 18, 2017, 02:26:13 AM »
When this happens look on your WD PC at the index.gif file which should be in your /webfiles subfolder. Is that image complete, or is it missing the graphs too? This will help us understand if the problem is WD's generation of the file, or if it's getting corrupted during the upload.

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 100
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Safari 10.1
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #7 on: August 18, 2017, 04:33:08 AM »
what is the exact steps you are doing to rectify the problem?

1) Select control panel in WD
2) Select Internet File Creation & Uploads
3) Select Screen Image File
4) Select create this now

After step 4 I notice the thumbnail setup image will then correct itself and display the graphs in the screenshot thumbnail correctly.

5)Select upload this file now
6)Select save

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 100
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Safari 10.1
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #8 on: August 18, 2017, 05:02:54 AM »
When this happens look on your WD PC at the index.gif file which should be in your /webfiles subfolder. Is that image complete, or is it missing the graphs too? This will help us understand if the problem is WD's generation of the file, or if it's getting corrupted during the upload.

Hi Niko, I did look in the WD web files subfolder and the image looks complete;but I'll take a look again when this problem reoccurs. One thing I might add, is not only is the graphs in the screenshot corrupt on my website, but also the screenshot image on my PC display. Also, the corrupt graphs can be random after correcting the problem. Sometimes it might be the windspeed section of the graph, or just the temp section, or both.

All is working now because I've went thru my steps of correcting the problem. Now I'm just going to wait and see how long it takes for this problem to reoccur.

Thanks

Bob

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 100
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Safari 10.1
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2017, 10:23:17 PM »
When this happens look on your WD PC at the index.gif file which should be in your /webfiles subfolder. Is that image complete, or is it missing the graphs too? This will help us understand if the problem is WD's generation of the file, or if it's getting corrupted during the upload.


OK, it happened again... I looked at the webfiles subfolder and the screenshot image is missing the graphs. I looked at the log files and I finally got an error message.... "error with main form custom screen image Cannot open file "C:\wdisplay\webfiles\animatedhttpfile.gif". The process cannot access the file because it is being used by another process." Once again this problem is very random. It worked fine since I reloaded  the Screenshot back on the 16th of this month.   http://bobsvp2wd.net

Thanks

Bob

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,684
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #10 on: August 29, 2017, 10:26:32 PM »
OK, that is where the problem is
you must have set to have that animated image on your screen,C:\wdisplay\webfiles\animatedhttpfile.gif
and sometimes there is a file clash
I will put some more error checking code around that and you can test

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,684
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #11 on: August 29, 2017, 10:40:07 PM »
actually that error is an error trap
what is probably happening is that the image file is corrupted and is all black and bigger than it should be or similar
what could do is set it to not visible if that error occurs

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,684
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.90
    • Weather Display
Re: Screenshot Graph Blacked Out
« Reply #12 on: August 29, 2017, 10:52:08 PM »

 

cumulus