cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Start up WD with admin privileges  (Read 596 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,707
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.101
Re: Start up WD with admin privileges
« Reply #15 on: August 18, 2017, 01:46:05 PM »
Too right! I wanted to put in 5 minutes but the drop-down menu didn't show that. So I just typed in 5 minutes and it refused to save the task!

One minute delay is recommended in the video.

Hmmm, must be a W10 thing, in W7 you can use any delay you want. I use 2 mins with my Atom PC.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 194
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Start up WD with admin privileges
« Reply #16 on: September 11, 2017, 10:02:04 PM »
Watched the YouTube videos and set up to have WD start up from desktop shortcut and on Windows startup, but neither of these seems to work with the WMR200. WD starts OK but then WMR200 History vers 1.3 fails to open the USB port.

For the avoidance of doubt, WMR200 History vers 1.3 doesn't even try to open the USB port. It just sits looking for data from whatever time it lost connection.
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,704
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
    • Weather Display
Re: Start up WD with admin privileges
« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2017, 08:56:53 AM »
can you copy /past what does show?

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 194
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Start up WD with admin privileges
« Reply #18 on: September 13, 2017, 06:19:50 PM »
"Looking for data from hh:mm:ss mm/dd/yyyy"

Never gets to "trying to open the USB port"

It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline T and T

  • Posts: 55
  • Powell, WY USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
    • Powell Wyoming Weather
Re: Start up WD with admin privileges
« Reply #19 on: September 13, 2017, 09:53:45 PM »
I was experiencing a similar problem. I tried the solutions you have. Nothing worked.

I finally got it! I changed the data logging interval to 1 minute and restarted.

Problem solved.

____________________

Terry


Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 194
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Start up WD with admin privileges
« Reply #20 on: September 13, 2017, 10:04:59 PM »
Thanks, Terry. OS WMR200 data logger already set to 1 minute. . .  :(
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,704
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
    • Weather Display
Re: Start up WD with admin privileges
« Reply #21 on: September 13, 2017, 10:38:40 PM »
@T and T
what weather station type?

@bitsostring
what showed under view ,program event log and view, debug info?

Offline T and T

  • Posts: 55
  • Powell, WY USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
    • Powell Wyoming Weather
Re: Start up WD with admin privileges
« Reply #22 on: September 14, 2017, 05:54:14 PM »
I use Davis Vantage Pro2 Plus, Davis Instruments WeatherLink USB data-logger and of course WD.

My computer saw the com port but would not see the data-logger and the updating data-logger window would hang. WD would eventually load but without the data in the logger. My interval was previously set at one minute. So I changed to I think 5 minutes (I don't think that it matters), saved and closed WD. Rebooted computer. Set interval back to one minute, saved, restarted and WD saw the data-logger on Com 3.

I can't explain why but it did the trick for me.

Terry

 
____________________

Terry


Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,704
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
    • Weather Display
Re: Start up WD with admin privileges
« Reply #23 on: September 14, 2017, 08:29:26 PM »
@T and T
this particular thread is about an issue that bitsostring has with his WMR200 station
its not related at all to your Davis VP

Offline T and T

  • Posts: 55
  • Powell, WY USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 60.0.3112.113
    • Powell Wyoming Weather
Re: Start up WD with admin privileges
« Reply #24 on: September 14, 2017, 09:09:23 PM »
I realize what thread it is. My problem has been corrected. I thought that there might be a similarity of his problem and mine.
____________________

Terry


 

cumulus