Starting from scratch

Having found out that the Davis system I’ve been using for over 10 years is inaccurate for temperature when the sun shines, I decided to start again from scratch on a new computer with a different weather system and a better-sited temperature sensor. Re-siting the Davis was not physically possible because of its construction. Attached is a screen shot of the new non-Davis system showing the max temp today at 37.0

Expecting dead nutz ball accurate readings from hobby stations is unattainable. You need to spend a lot more money if you want scientific results #-o

[quote="NorCal Dan post:2, topic:64294"] Expecting dead nutz ball accurate readings from hobby stations is unattainable. You need to spend a lot more money if you want scientific results #-o [/quote] I agree 100% but we can try. Even professional Stevenson screens vary in their results http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/wol1/doi/10.1002/joc.4287/abstract https://wattsupwiththat.com/2008/01/14/a-typical-day-in-the-stevenson-screen-paint-test/ http://server1.nuge.com/~weather/WX-Meas-of-Temp-shelters.pdf etc. etc.

I quote from the last article:

Accurate measurement of air temperature in the presence of strong radiation presents difficulties that are not easily resolved. The factors affecting error due to radiant exchange were analyzed, and the importance of sensor size was shown to be critical in this context. A number of alternative designs for instrument screens were evaluated: though none was found to give full protection from radiant exchange, several jury-rigged screens were found to give similar results to some commercial products. Until thermometer screens are developed that eliminate error due to radiant exchange, a universal method of calibration and labelling should be adopted, so that errors in measurement resulting from the response of the specific screen to combinations of environmental factors may be assessed.