cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Flatline-check for Davis  (Read 1280 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline weatherc

  • Posts: 1,977
  • Salo, Finland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Weatherstation Salo,FI
Flatline-check for Davis
« on: April 08, 2017, 08:15:29 AM »
Hi Brian,

As per the discussion on wx-forum (https://www.wxforum.net/index.php?topic=31874) a suggestion for adding flatline-check for Davis.

The issue:
Every now and then WD goes flatline whats mess up the data. The setup is Davis - Virtual VP - WD. The core problem is not WD itself as also WL stops getting data but WL handles this properly (stops getting data) while WD do not (goes flatline).
« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 08:37:27 AM by weatherc »

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,770
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 57.0.2987.133
Re: Flatline-check for Davis
« Reply #1 on: April 08, 2017, 01:56:00 PM »
The core problem is not WD itself as also WL stops getting data but WL handles this properly (stops getting data) while WD do not (goes flatline).

The "proper" response to a loss of data was debated a long time ago and the concensus at that time was that it was better to continue recording the last reading during what could be only a short data drop out rather than stop logging. The question is what makes the bigger mess?




Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 249
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Flatline-check for Davis
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2017, 02:16:50 PM »
The "proper" response to a loss of data was debated a long time ago and the concensus at that time was that it was better to continue recording the last reading during what could be only a short data drop out rather than stop logging. The question is what makes the bigger mess?


Trouble is that some of us may not immediately notice that WD has been flat-line graphing and logging (for up to 5 hours in my case) and if WD carries on graphing and logging then the history data on the logger is not easily recovered. Which is why I asked Brian to make this mod for WMR200: see my (later) posts in this thread https://www.weather-watch.com/smf/index.php/topic,64764.0.html. Works fine (with one new problem that may not have anything to do with the mod!).

I also suggested it might be made an option, so that individual users could choose.

« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 05:13:36 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline hankster

  • Posts: 1,254
  • North Fort Myers FL
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.6
  • Chrome 57.0.2987.133
    • North Fort Myers Weather
Re: Flatline-check for Davis
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2017, 03:01:19 PM »
While a pain it's not hard to recover the "lost" data from the data logger. I know, done it many times since my IP logger also used to flatline. The bigger pain is getting to logger to connect to the network again.

Offline weatherc

  • Posts: 1,977
  • Salo, Finland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Weatherstation Salo,FI
Re: Flatline-check for Davis
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2017, 03:20:46 PM »
The "proper" response to a loss of data was debated a long time ago and the concensus at that time was that it was better to continue recording the last reading during what could be only a short data drop out rather than stop logging. The question is what makes the bigger mess?

It should stop if the data have been the same say 5 mintues as then its not a short drop anymore. As bitsostring stated it can take hours before a flatline is noted as WD continous also uploading clientraw.txt which again do all kind monitring that file unusable for this case.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 249
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Flatline-check for Davis
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2017, 03:41:02 PM »
While a pain it's not hard to recover the "lost" data from the data logger. I know, done it many times since my IP logger also used to flatline. The bigger pain is getting to logger to connect to the network again.

See the thread I mentioned above on flat-lining: if I restarted WD after a few hours flat-lining it would read the WMR200 history data saved on the console logger OK but it didn't seem to do anything with it except write a raw data file that I can't decode. It certainly didn't go back and overwrite the flat-line log/graph.

It should stop if the data have been the same say 5 mintues as then its not a short drop anymore. As bitsostring stated it can take hours before a flatline is noted as WD continous also uploading clientraw.txt which again do all kind monitring that file unusable for this case.

I suggested a minute to Brian, because it's often 30 secs between live data "packets" from the WMR200, and I think he put in 40 secs. But it shouldn't detect flat-lining "if the data have been the same" for 40 secs, only if live data has stopped arriving altogether for 40 secs.
« Last Edit: April 08, 2017, 05:21:57 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Offline hankster

  • Posts: 1,254
  • North Fort Myers FL
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.11.6
  • Chrome 57.0.2987.133
    • North Fort Myers Weather
Re: Flatline-check for Davis
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2017, 11:32:26 PM »
See the thread I mentioned above on flat-lining: if I restarted WD after a few hours flat-lining it would read the WMR200 history data saved on the console logger OK but it didn't seem to do anything with it except write a raw data file that I can't decode. It certainly didn't go back and overwrite the flat-line log/graph.

The original post in this thread is talking about the Davis, there is no mention of the WMR200. With the Davis it is not that hard to go back and get the missed data.

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,303
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 57.0.2987.133
    • Weather Display
Re: Flatline-check for Davis
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2017, 04:19:34 AM »
the issue though is even with the Davis, if WD flat lines, i.e the com port was lost (e.g USB data logger, electrical interference (e.g fluroescent light)
then WD keeps on logging the same data from the last data received
you can set WD to get the missed data from the start of that flat line, but you need to set that time and delete those repeated data in the logfile first, then after the extraction and missed data catch up, convert that logfile to data file

the improvement for this situation is that WD detects no more data arriving (I assume when the flat line occurs, the data received light stops flashing? (I do not have this problem myself, hence why I ask)
and so then WD stops the logging the data and set the time/date for when its restarted to that time that the flat line starts

sort of thin

I can easily test here, by simply pulling the connection to my spare VP console
and so I can work on this over the coming days

sound good?

Offline weatherc

  • Posts: 1,977
  • Salo, Finland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Weatherstation Salo,FI
Re: Flatline-check for Davis
« Reply #8 on: April 09, 2017, 07:48:01 AM »
Sounds good.
I haven't checked the data light during the flatlines.

Quote
the issue though is even with the Davis, if WD flat lines, i.e the com port was lost (e.g USB data logger, electrical interference (e.g fluroescent light)
then WD keeps on logging the same data from the last data received

Yes, thats the main issue.

Offline bitsostring

  • Posts: 249
  • WMR200
  • Edinburgh, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Flatline-check for Davis
« Reply #9 on: April 09, 2017, 01:16:51 PM »
The original post in this thread is talking about the Davis, there is no mention of the WMR200. With the Davis it is not that hard to go back and get the missed data.

As you know, the WMR200 mod was effectively offered to Davis users in WXForum - see weatherc's original post, above - so I thought I'd mention how well it meets my requirements. Up to you lot to help Brian make it work for Davis!
« Last Edit: April 09, 2017, 01:31:35 PM by bitsostring »
It's meant to be fun. . .

Online Weather Display

  • Posts: 82,303
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 57.0.2987.133
    • Weather Display
Re: Flatline-check for Davis
« Reply #10 on: April 15, 2017, 07:10:32 PM »
easter egg
try this test version (build 46)
(enabled by default, and tested here)
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/weatherdisplaytest.zip

 

cumulus