cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Humidity sensor failed again  (Read 468 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline kitaro

  • Posts: 28
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Humidity sensor failed again
« on: March 30, 2017, 09:57:33 PM »
Hello
Does anyone else have a problem with humidy sensoe failing. My 2nd one has now stopped working. I replcaed replaced it about 3 yeras ago- would have expected longer life span. any idea of life span. Am i right in thinking there was a know fault with this for vantage pro 2 stations ?
Karl

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 80,978
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 56.0.2924.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Humidity sensor failed again
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2017, 10:56:33 PM »
all electronic weather stations suffer from problems with the humidity sensor
Davis have been sourcing and using and improving better sensors
so if you replace it again with the latest available then hopefully it will last longer next time for you

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,452
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 56.0.2924.87
Re: Humidity sensor failed again
« Reply #2 on: March 30, 2017, 11:06:19 PM »
Mine have usually lasted longer than that, but it depends a lot on the environment. These are electronic parts that are exposed to outdoor air 24x7.

Offline kitaro

  • Posts: 28
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Mozilla compatible
Re: Humidity sensor failed again
« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2017, 10:39:10 PM »
Brian
I see you are in NZ have you replaced the humidity sensor if so where did you get it from ?
I have emailed weatherdata in Hamilton as advised by the met shop but they have not replied after a day. Not unusual  i have tried to be a customer of theirs once before and failed
Karl

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,452
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 56.0.2924.87
Re: Humidity sensor failed again
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2017, 11:39:31 PM »
It's a universal part so you're not limited to local suppliers.

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,452
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 56.0.2924.87
Re: Humidity sensor failed again
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2017, 03:11:38 AM »
https://www.scaledinstruments.com/ are good guys and will ship to NZ (don't know shipping cost), be sure to get a login for their discount price list.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 80,978
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 56.0.2924.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Humidity sensor failed again
« Reply #6 on: April 05, 2017, 06:54:15 AM »
I did try cleaning the sensor on my original 2nd hand VP1
the sensor in then replacement VP2 has been working great for a few years now
« Last Edit: April 05, 2017, 05:58:34 PM by Weather Display »

Offline pwilman

  • Posts: 524
  • Bath Spa, United Kingdom
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Mozilla compatible
    • Bath Spa Weather
Re: Humidity sensor failed again
« Reply #7 on: April 05, 2017, 12:45:58 PM »
Hi,

I got my station at the start of 2012 and am on my third temperature/humidity sensor. I have now found a supplier from Germany that does them for about 60.

Paul
paulwilman73@gmail.com
http://www.paulwilman.com

Davis vantage pro2 with dFARS, solar sensor, USB logger
W10 Lenovo ultra book 8Gb RAM

Offline niko

  • syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Posts: 26,452
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Chrome 56.0.2924.87
Re: Humidity sensor failed again
« Reply #8 on: April 05, 2017, 06:24:53 PM »

Offline belfryboy

  • Posts: 45
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 6.0.1
  • Chrome 51.0.2704.79
Re: Humidity sensor failed again
« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2017, 09:32:41 PM »
Or you could always go with scaled instruments and get an SHT31 for around 50 delivered to the UK. It still uses the original Davis filter cover, so is still vulnerable to sensor contamination and thermal lag.

 

cumulus