cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Webpage not uploading correctly  (Read 912 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 99
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 9.2.1
  • Safari 9.0
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Webpage not uploading correctly
« on: February 12, 2017, 02:43:28 PM »
Hi folks, everything is working well with wd, but the webpage is not uploading/displaying correctly. The only way to upload correctly would be to do it manually. I also noticed that the only webpage that is uploading the correct time stamp is the crater lake template. 

Please visit:   http://www.bobsvp2wd.net

Thanks

Bob
« Last Edit: February 12, 2017, 02:46:35 PM by orion98665 »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,467
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #1 on: February 12, 2017, 10:50:19 PM »
try setting the station file name in WD to index
in the webfiles/web page setup
and tick to use .html there as well

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 99
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win Vista/Srvr 2008
  • Firefox 51.0
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2017, 02:08:48 AM »
OK fixed!! All it took is those five little letters (index) to fix both problems!!  :) Now I have lots of refining to do.

I'm finally back after quite some time of no WD. Unfortunately, I had to completely uninstall WD do to myself modifying/exploring WD
that led to a complete scramble of data, instability, and a main WD  screenshot that was so hosed up that I spent hours trying to correct! And Just when I thought I fixed the problems, they all came back after restarting WD. :(

All I can say is the support form this forum is top notch!! The WD program has more bells, and whistles than any other program out there!!
However, for me it's  a bit complex, and trying new things can lead to a disaster. #-o It's working good now, so I think I'll leave it alone!!

Thanks,

Bob
« Last Edit: February 13, 2017, 02:10:21 AM by orion98665 »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,467
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2017, 06:50:11 PM »
do make sure to back up the settings
(the auto daily back should be on by default)

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 99
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Safari 9.0.3
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #4 on: February 15, 2017, 03:52:06 AM »
Thanks Brian, data backup is set to on. All is working great with the Crater Lake style Web site template. However, I'm unable to retrieve the the averages/extreme month data in the jump box. However, when I set up the generic style web site ( by turning off the override toggle switch/un-tick crater lake style web site) I'm able to view this data.

The HTML script looks like this on the mywebpagetemplate:<OPTION selected>Select averages/extreme month
                                                                                     <OPTION VALUE="February 2017 .htm">February 2017
                                                                                     </SELECT>

Not to sure if something  is missing??

http://www.bobsvp2wd.net

Thank,

Bob

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,467
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #5 on: February 15, 2017, 06:30:48 PM »
I see that its trying to load
http://www.bobsvp2wd.net/February%202017.htm

it looks like you must  be using the custom tag
%dropdownlist%
(you did not mention if you were )
if so, use the latest .zip update

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 99
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Safari 9.0.3
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #6 on: February 17, 2017, 03:22:49 AM »
I see that its trying to load
http://www.bobsvp2wd.net/February%202017.htm

it looks like you must  be using the custom tag
%dropdownlist%
(you did not mention if you were )
if so, use the latest .zip update

Fixed Brian!! I only spent hours trying to figure out what was wrong!! I ended up comparing the standard HTML Webpage template script to the Crater Lake template (The standard uploaded and was viewable, the Crater Lake wasn't).

Here is the HTML template that  worked: :D
<div align="center"> <SELECT> <OPTION selected>Select averages/extreme month <OPTION VALUE="February2017.htm">February 2017 </SELECT> <INPUT TYPE="button" VALUE="Go" onClick="jumpBox(this.form.elements[0])"> 

Here is the HTML template that didn't work: :x
 <!--- Hide from old browsers function jumpBox(list) {location.href = list.options[list.selectedIndex].value} // end hiding ---> </SCRIPT> <FORM> <div align="center"> <SELECT> <OPTION selected>Select averages/extreme month <OPTION VALUE="February 2017.htm">February 2017 </SELECT> <INPUT TYPE="button" VALUE="Go" onClick="jumpBox(this.form.elements[0])"> </div> </div>
 
Can anybody see the difference?? What a pain in the A$$ this was!!

Thanks,

Bob
« Last Edit: February 17, 2017, 03:26:38 AM by orion98665 »

Offline Gus

  • Posts: 620
  • Halethorpe, Maryland USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 56.0.2924.87
    • Halethorpe Weather-Watch
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #7 on: February 17, 2017, 02:41:38 PM »
The difference is the space in the file name

<OPTION VALUE="February2017.htm">
<OPTION VALUE="February 2017.htm">
Davis VP2+ & LabJack w/lightning counter, soil/grass temp
AMD AthlonIIx2 220, 4GB, Windows7 CW1550 KMDBALTI12

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 99
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 9.2.1
  • Safari 9.0
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2017, 04:17:40 PM »
The difference is the space in the file name

<OPTION VALUE="February2017.htm">
<OPTION VALUE="February 2017.htm">

ding,ding,ding,
You win!!! :D

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,467
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2017, 07:06:32 PM »
a linux web server would have most likely dealt with (i.e it would have served the file name that best fits)
but a windows server would not

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 99
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • iOS 9.2.1
  • Safari 9.0
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #10 on: February 19, 2017, 10:42:10 PM »
Ok Brian all is complete, including the website, and registeration. However, the only thing that is weird is the "setup" box in the WD taskbar is unselectable (not bold set). I restarted WD but to no avail.

Thanks,

Bob

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,467
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #11 on: February 19, 2017, 10:55:18 PM »
I am not sure what you are meaning exactly

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,467
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather Display
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #12 on: February 19, 2017, 10:57:37 PM »
I think maybe you mean the setup menu along the top of the WD program
you have then set to disable that for some reason

you can un do that via creating a file called setupon.txt where you have WD installed and then restart WD

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 99
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Safari 9.0.3
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #13 on: February 19, 2017, 11:12:48 PM »
OK, you are correct Brian. I'll create the file.

Thanks,

Bob

Offline orion98665

  • Posts: 99
  • Vancouver, Washington USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.10.5
  • Safari 9.0.3
    • bobsvp2wd.net
Re: Webpage not uploading correctly
« Reply #14 on: February 19, 2017, 11:26:29 PM »
I think maybe you mean the setup menu along the top of the WD program
you have then set to disable that for some reason

you can un do that via creating a file called setupon.txt where you have WD installed and then restart WD

Thanks once again Brian that worked. All is complete!!

http://www.bobsvp2wd.net

Thanks,

Bob

 

cumulus