cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: Forum access  (Read 1396 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline TrevP

  • Posts: 835
  • Peterborough, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Firefox 52.0
    • Peterborough Weather Watch
Re: Forum access
« Reply #45 on: December 25, 2016, 11:51:57 AM »
never seen the message as far as I am aware. 

Only log in from my PC (Win10 Pro), and only use FF (developer version).

TrevP
http://www.peterboroughweatherwatch.com

OS WMR 928 - Recording Data since Oct 2005

Self Build - Win10 Pro 64 - 8Gb

...Go easy......Step light...ly,.......Stay free
Strummer/Jones

Offline Jachym

  • Posts: 1,756
  • Meteotemplate Developer
  • Brno, Czech Republic
    • jachym.czech
  • OS/Browser:
  • (Linux Mint)
  • Chrome 48.0.2564.116
    • Meteotemplate
Re: Forum access
« Reply #46 on: February 02, 2017, 11:05:42 PM »
Happening again... it really is very annoying, not only you cannot send a PM, but what is even worse is that the field content is not cached by the browser, so whatever you wrote is completely lost

Offline Bashy

  • Posts: 1,274
  • Suffolk, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Suffolk Weather
Re: Forum access
« Reply #47 on: February 03, 2017, 03:47:51 AM »
I am on chrome, if i go back then all what i wrote is there (not for pms though :/), I have had this a few
times over the last few days, NOT on my weather PC, Lappy or phone, but on my main PC thats in the living room,
i rarely use it for anything other than watching my downloaded series and movies on.

Its just lately whilst i was trying to sort a lot of my photography images out i replied to comments using that PC
and i have had the message 3 times over the last few days.

I think Chris and i have established that it is not the forum (if it was, it would be doing it on all 4 machines) but that
it is because (quote from Chris) that does make sense, when i used to get it on my phone and lappy a good while
back, but back then i was then using my main pc all the time.

I believe there is an overly sensitive mod/hack in the forum software  or addon

Quote
If you're getting it on a different PC that you rarely use then it might be that the session IDs on the two PCs are out of step. So your normal PC is saying my ID is "12345"and your other PC is saying my session ID is "54321". Trying to use expired session IDs is a trick that hackers can use to circumvent security.

I did think along the lines of the above as per my reply on December 24, 2016, 03:27:12 PM
« Last Edit: February 03, 2017, 03:49:52 AM by Bashy »

Offline aardvark

  • Posts: 6,249
  • Des Moines, Iowa
  • Des Moines, Iowa, USA
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.12
  • Firefox 51.0
    • Des Moines, Iowa Weather and Climate
Re: Forum access
« Reply #48 on: February 03, 2017, 04:09:07 AM »
try this,  https://  then the forum. 

I had the problem with this forum,being unable to access and remember my PW.   I read about it on the net and changed it a bit.  worked fine
Davis VP2 Plus; 24h  FARS; Extra Temp Humid sensor (2); Extra Temp Station (2); Soil Moisture/Temp Station;Weatherlink IP;USB; MAC Sierra; Bloomsky Sky2 ; https://map.bloomsky.com/weather-stations/faBiuZWsnpW6n6il;
http://www.desmoinesweather.org

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,766
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: Forum access
« Reply #49 on: February 06, 2017, 12:41:30 PM »
I believe there is an overly sensitive mod/hack in the forum software  or addon

It is generated by a forum mod, but the error isn't very meaningful and the logs are huge and not easily searchable so it's difficult to find the specific error in them. I've forced the error myself a few times today so I may be able to work out what's going wrong.

Just one thought...do you have all your sessions on different PCs/browsers logged in at the same time? I got the error what I was flipping between logged in an as a guest.
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline administrator

  • Administrator
  • Posts: 10,766
  • Get answers to your questions - use Forum SEARCH!
  • Blackpool, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win NT 10.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.87
    • Weather-Watch.com
Re: Forum access
« Reply #50 on: February 06, 2017, 01:02:01 PM »
Please let me know if the error is still happening. I checked the version of the mod that was generating the error and it was a long way out of date for some reason but the forum software hadn't flagged that up for some reason. I've just upgraded to the latest version so maybe that will get rid of the error?
Chris
Weather Forum Administrator

Offline Bashy

  • Posts: 1,274
  • Suffolk, UK
  • OS/Browser:
  • Android 5.0
  • Chrome 55.0.2883.91
    • Suffolk Weather
Re: Forum access
« Reply #51 on: February 06, 2017, 02:29:46 PM »
OK, Chris, will let ya know, thanks...