cloudy cloudy

Author Topic: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd  (Read 3509 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline IROXproX

  • Posts: 20
  • from the Land of Mountains & Banks - Switzerland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« on: August 22, 2013, 06:28:15 PM »
Hello Experts

the CWOP update works from the desktop computer WD software, this is the raw data:

EW3457>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@221757z4650.97N/00734.37E_045/000g000t077r000p000P000b10263h51.WD 10
EW3457>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@221758z4650.97N/00734.37E_045/000g000t077r000p000P000b10263h51.WD 10

http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/wx.cgi?call=EW3457


but the raspberry PI is sending it  in a different format which doesn't goes through
the raw data from raspberry pi`s consolewd looks like this:

irox read -1
status  0
cwop sending EW3457>APRS,TCPIP*:@221822z4650.97N/00734.37E_045/000g000t076r000p000P000b10263h52.WD 59
irox read -1
status  0
irox read -1

Checking the ethernet interface on the raspberry pi with WireShark, I see only a dns query towards CWOP.

Any idea what I should do to fix the update towards CWOP from Raspberry Pi - consolewd?

Many thanks
« Last Edit: August 22, 2013, 06:31:09 PM by IROXproX »

Offline NorCal Dan

  • Dan - KJ6RGX
  • Posts: 10,271
  • Davis Vue/Win10
  • Ocean Park, WA.
  • OS/Browser:
  • Mac OS X 10.6
  • Firefox 23.0
    • Traveling RV Weather
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #1 on: August 22, 2013, 08:27:54 PM »
Not sure what the current status is with the CWOP servers, but they mentioned on the listserv that  "TCPXX*, qAX." should actually be "TCPIP*".  Last I heard not all their servers were requiring this change, so depending on what server you connect to in the rotation might explain why your data is not showing up.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,698
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
    • Weather Display
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #2 on: August 22, 2013, 10:39:51 PM »
Norcaldan,thats not the problem

because the info posted above shows consolewd is sending as TCPIP

(the raw data posted for the desktop version is how it looks like once it gets to the servers..its not sent like that)

or it could be that its not connecting correctly to the cwop servers
I will do some testing here

Offline IROXproX

  • Posts: 20
  • from the Land of Mountains & Banks - Switzerland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2013, 05:21:22 PM »
Thank you Brian, I am waiting for your test result on this. I am running your latest consolewd on my Raspberry Pi. 

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,698
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
    • Weather Display
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2013, 07:07:22 PM »
do you happen to be using a call sign in the windows version?

ps, I did test initially for CWOP and it worked OK
how do you have the CWOP settings set in the config.txt?
e.g server, port, etc?

Offline IROXproX

  • Posts: 20
  • from the Land of Mountains & Banks - Switzerland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #5 on: August 24, 2013, 01:10:31 AM »
oohh, then It is my mistake, as I don't have any server and port set in the config.txt.

Here is what I have in the config.txt that relates to CWOP:

Do CWOP updates=Y //every 10 minutes
CWOP station id=EW3457
CWOP ham call sign=-1  // -1 is default (you do not have a Ham call sign)
CWOP Latitude=4650.97N
CWOP Longitude=00734.37E

I thought these CWOP settings were enough to make it work. How and what should I specify for the server and port here in the config.txt?

By the way I also have a hamradio callsign, so I am interested to use that for CWOP as well.

Many thanks

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,698
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
    • Weather Display
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #6 on: August 24, 2013, 05:53:08 AM »
my bad...I thought there was settings for that...
I will add some debug code to the croncwop program

so we can see what is happening /not happening on your setup

Offline IROXproX

  • Posts: 20
  • from the Land of Mountains & Banks - Switzerland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #7 on: August 24, 2013, 08:32:19 AM »
OK, no problem at all, please just let me know when I can test your update on CWOP with Raspberry Pi. Thank you

In the mean time I am testing the stability on the Raspberry, I installed the latest wheezy image on it and did an update and only a FTP server is running on it plus the consolewd. It seems to be stable but only I have been using it for a few days so far.

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,698
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
    • Weather Display
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #8 on: August 25, 2013, 09:48:08 PM »
OK, I have fired up my raspberry pi

the server to use is from the wdconsole.ini file
i.e
[Aprs data send]
the server to use=

if blank then cwop.aprs.net is used
the port is fixed at 14580

if you go
./croncwop

what shows up?

Offline IROXproX

  • Posts: 20
  • from the Land of Mountains & Banks - Switzerland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #9 on: August 26, 2013, 02:41:50 PM »
Hello,

it looks like this:

pi@raspberrypi ~/WX $ ./croncwop
status  0
connected to CWOP server Ok
status  0
cwop sending user EW3457 pass -1 // -1 is default (you do not have a Ham call si vers wxdisplay WD_console_8.9 59
status  0
cwop sending EW3457>APRS,TCPIP*:@261431z4650.97N/00734.37E_045/000g000t076r000p000P000b10221h45.WD 59
status  0

config.txt:

Do CWOP updates=Y //every 10 minutes
CWOP station id=EW3457
CWOP ham call sign=-1 // -1 is default (you do not have a Ham call sign)
CWOP Latitude=4650.97N
CWOP Longitude=00734.37E

wdconsole.ini

[Aprs data send]
station id=EW3457
WD version=WD_console_8.9 59
ham call sign=-1 // -1 is default (you do not have a Ham call si
latitude=4650.97N
longitude=00734.37E
the server to use=cwop.aprs.net
data=EW3457>APRS,TCPIP*:@261431z4650.97N/00734.37E_045/000g000t076r000p000P000b10221h45.WD 59

and even if I modify the data= in the this file to
data=EW3457>APRS,TCPXX*,qAX,CWOP-4:@261431z4650.97N/00734.37E_045/000g000t076r000p000P000b10221h45.WD 59

it doesn't work neither.

so It still doesn't go through :  http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/wx.cgi?call=EW3457



« Last Edit: August 26, 2013, 02:49:36 PM by IROXproX »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,698
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
    • Weather Display
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #10 on: August 26, 2013, 07:42:58 PM »
re the longitude, where do you live in the world?

Offline IROXproX

  • Posts: 20
  • from the Land of Mountains & Banks - Switzerland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #11 on: August 26, 2013, 07:49:44 PM »
This is my location:
http://www.findu.com/cgi-bin/find.cgi?call=EW3457

Near the place where the IROX is made in Switzerland.

But the CWOP is still only working from my desktop WD, not from my raspberry pi.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2013, 07:51:49 PM by IROXproX »

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,698
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
    • Weather Display
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #12 on: August 26, 2013, 09:52:27 PM »
humm, its not getting through from here either, in testing, using your settings files
I will test again to my CWOP number

Offline Weather Display

  • Posts: 81,698
  • Davis VP2
  • New Zealand
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
    • Weather Display
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #13 on: August 26, 2013, 10:38:11 PM »
I have fixed it
needed to be using port 23 instead
download a new consolewdpi update
http://www.weather-display.com/downloadfiles/consolewdfilespi.zip

(updated consolewd and croncwop files)

Offline IROXproX

  • Posts: 20
  • from the Land of Mountains & Banks - Switzerland
  • OS/Browser:
  • Win 7/Srvr 2008R2
  • Firefox 23.0
Re: CWOP OK from WD on desktop but not OK from consolewd
« Reply #14 on: August 27, 2013, 04:50:49 AM »
Thank you very much for the fix. Now it is working fine with the CWOP weather station ID.

If I want to use my hamradio callsign, what should I modify?
I just entered it in the config.txt after CWOP ham call sign=
and also into the wdconsole.ini but I can not see it on the APRS.FI.
Do I need to add something else in the config in that case?
It would be great to use with hamcall as well.
« Last Edit: August 27, 2013, 09:46:46 AM by IROXproX »

 

cumulus