Newbie help please.

Hi folks.
I’m very new to Linux, so apologies if this sounds dumb, but as they say the question that isn’t asked is the one that should be, or something like that!

My intention is to set up a weather station at my retirement project in France, sounds grand but it isn’t I assure you, this would assess the viability of generating electricity by wind turbine and how much.

So I purchased a Maplin weather station with USB interface, I believe it is the Fine Offset WH1081.
I have an Asus EeePC 901 running Ubuntu 12.04 (The first incarnation was from a cover CD of 12.04 was the 64 bit version which didn’t start me off on the right foot! It now has the 32bit version and seems to run OK.) #-o
So I downloaded the Linux version of Weather Display onto my EeePC in the Downloads folder.
I expanded the tar into Home as suggested in the Readme.txt file.
I’m sorry but this it where it all goes wrong for me, what do I do know?
I’m Mac orientated and therefore used to having a .dmg to click on!
i know I’m missing something but don’t know what. :oops:
Success so far has installing SAMBA and tightvncserver which both work well. I can control the EeecPC from my Mac no problem and can shuffle files to and fro.
My ultimate intention is to get Weather Display up and running on my Raspberry Pi for a low power permanent installation in France.
Though it is very rural I have broadband - just - 512K and it certainly won’t get any faster for a long time! But is enough and is reasonably reliable to ‘see’ my camera and temperature sensor out there.

Edit:
I have tried entering cd wdisplay
To which I get:
ian@ian-eeepc:~/wdisplay$
I now entered:
./GoWeather.sh

It now hangs after:
[HINT] TWinControlCreateWind creating Handle during loading MainForm: TMainForm c
sDesigning=False

And that’s it!
I also get the splash screen with Weather Display and an orange bar quarter of the way across with ‘Loading extra sensors graph’ under it.

Can anybody shed any light on what’s wrong?