Install Directions for first time Linux install

I’m now comfortable enough with WD in windows to install it on my Linux machine. A couple of questions:

1. It looks like I need to create a directory in my home/name directory called kyrlix. Is there something I need to install ahead of WD for linux in terms of an application?

2. How do I copy my settings in Windows to the Linux machine? Is it just the wdisplay.ini file? or more?

I really like this program. I’m converting over from Weatherview32.

Thanks
JP

No, the kylix directory was only in the early versions. Now, if you download the 2 files in the download, the proper directory structure will be made.
As far as transfering files from the windows version, you will need wdisplay.ini (rename to WDISPLAY.INI) and your log and data files for historical data. Be sure to set your permissions correctly after you copy them.

Thanks

JP

Well … I guess I’m a little slow. I installed the 2.2 version – this is my first attempt at the Linux version. From a terminal, I typed “sh GoWeather.sh”. All the file structures are now in place. To run the program, which command do I use? The instructions say “./GoWeatherD” which is a file that does not exist. I type “./WeatherD” and get an error while loading the shared libraries: libipworks.so.5: … : No such file or directory.

I can get it to run from the terminal by typing “sh GoWeather.sh”. Would appreciate any help.

Thanks
JP

Not that I know anything since in in your boat too!, but you run the GoWeather script each time. I use ./GoWeather.sh from bash. If you open the file with an editor, you will see that it checks if you are a root user, sets the where the lib files are and then runs ./WeatherD

oops Backed up one too many

Hello, Im trying for first time install on Slackware 9.0 system. Anyone have a procedure that has worked? I tried downloading and installing WeatherD-2.2.tar.gz but it errors on running GoWeather.sh.