cloudy

Author Topic: What Makes Clouds Move?  (Read 11359 times)

Offline HoosierGuy

• Indiana
What Makes Clouds Move?
« on: March 13, 2007, 04:32:09 AM »

Ok, today I looked up in the sky and saw lots of clouds.  I started wondering - what exactly was making the clouds move?  Was it the winds in sky pushing them along or are the clouds in a high or low air mass and the whole air mass is moving along carrying the clouds with them?  Or a combination of both? 

Be nice please!  I'm just learning this weather stuff!  :D  So what makes clouds move? 

Offline kray1000

• Roanoke, VA (USA)
    • Roanoke Valley Weather
Re: What Makes Clouds Move?
« Reply #1 on: March 13, 2007, 11:41:05 AM »
The earth's rotation? :lol:
Kevin Ray

Wireless VP2, Stardot NetCam, ImageSalsa 2.0.12, MovieSalsa, Nexstorm, WASP2, Skymet, VWS, WD 10.37Nb03

Offline AM1234

• Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
    • Beamsville Weather Station
« Reply #2 on: March 13, 2007, 12:15:41 PM »
Clouds move because the wind is carrying them along :)
Ann-Marie
Beamsville, Ontario, Canada

Offline niko

• syzygy
  • Global Moderator
  • Crystal Ball broken! Please post the URL.
  • Northern California, U.S.A.
    • http://www.realweatherstation.com
« Reply #3 on: March 13, 2007, 02:18:11 PM »
You would probably find USA Today's online weather basics useful. You can find them here.

Or for a starter you can buy a used copy of the USA Today Weather Book (referred to in your other thread) for a few bucks on Alibris
« Last Edit: March 13, 2007, 02:22:06 PM by niko »

Offline munrobaggins

• 38 mls NE Inverness UK
« Reply #4 on: March 13, 2007, 02:49:28 PM »

Ok, today I looked up in the sky and saw lots of clouds.  I started wondering - what exactly was making the clouds move?  Was it the winds in sky pushing them along or are the clouds in a high or low air mass and the whole air mass is moving along carrying the clouds with them?  Or a combination of both?